1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I/O error using DVD Decryptor & Philip's burner

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by aggie3263, Apr 20, 2004.

  1. aggie3263

    aggie3263 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Help me please! I have been following ScubaPete's direction in EVERY forum I have read, and I am still getting an I/O error! This is what it reads:


    I/O Error!

    Device:[1:0:0] PHILIPS DVD+RW-D28 1.29 (D:)

    ScsiStatus: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

    CDB: 2A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 00
    Interpretation: Write (10) Sectors: 0-15

    Sense Area: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0C 00 00 00 00 2C 00 00 00 00 00
    Interpretaton: Command Sequence Error



    I 09:24:12 DVD Decrypter Version 3.2.1.0 started!
    I 09:24:12 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 1)
    I 09:24:12 Initialising SPTI...
    I 09:24:12 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 09:24:12 Found 1 DVD+RW!
    I 09:24:39 Operation Started!
    I 09:24:39 Source File: C:Documents and SettingsChesney SteffenMy DocumentsMy DVDsBRUCE_ALMIGHTY.ISO
    I 09:24:39 Source File Sectors: 2,285,874 (MODE1/2048)
    I 09:24:39 Source File Size: 4,681,469,952 bytes
    I 09:24:39 Destination Device: [1:0:0] PHILIPS DVD+RW-D28 1.29 (D:)
    I 09:24:39 Destination Media Type: Unknown
    I 09:24:39 Write Mode: DVD
    I 09:24:39 Write Speed: 1x
    I 09:24:39 Test Mode: Yes
    I 09:24:39 BURN-Proof: Enabled
    W 09:24:39 [1:0:0] PHILIPS DVD+RW-D28 1.29 (D:) - Selected Write Speed: 1,385 KB/s (1x)
    W 09:24:39 [1:0:0] PHILIPS DVD+RW-D28 1.29 (D:) - Actual Write Speed: 706 KB/s (0.5x)
    I 09:24:39 Filling Buffer...
    I 09:24:40 Writing LeadIn...
    E 09:59:01 Failed to Write Sectors 0 - 15 - Command Sequence Error
    I 09:59:01 Synchronising Cache...
    I 09:59:01 Cycling Tray after Test Write...
    E 09:59:18 Failed to Write Image!
    E 09:59:19 Operation Failed! - Duration: 00:34:39
    I 09:59:19 Average Write Rate: N/A - Maximum Write Rate: N/A



    I am using Memorex DVD-RW...NOT what ScubaPete suggested, but that is what I had before I read to use Ritec (?) or Verbatim. Could this be my problem? Because when I go to "My computer" after inserting the disc into the burner drive, it is not reading the disc. It is showing under DVD Shrink that there is no disc present in that drive. If I reboot my computer and then reinsert disc, it will read it once to try and burn, give me the same I/O error then act as if there is not a disc present!

    Or could it be my burner that is the problem? The DVD-RW's that I bought are a 1-2x speed, and I think my burner drive is only a 1x speed. Present on my computer is DVD Shrink, DVD Decryptor and DVD43. I have followed all directions per ScubaPete and the guides on this site so far with the exception of the brand of DVD-RW I'm using. If anyone can help me it would be GREATLY appreciated!!!!

     
  2. gogadget

    gogadget Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dude im having almost the same io error but when mine starts it will only go to 57% and then it will say device not ready
     
  3. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Okie, Dokie -

    You're burning an ISO image using DVD Decrypter, BUT (and you're wainting for this aren't you) Youse isn't using de "Good Stuff".

    Oh, well - If you can, go back to DVD Shrink, go to "Edit", "Preferences" and where is says "Target DVD size" choose "Custom" and set the value at 4360MB. Then click "OK".
    Then process your DVD.

    (You can do it from the ISO file on your HD. Just use "Open Files" instead of "Open Disc".)

    When you use Decrypter next time, un-tick the "Verify" box - it's located under the Destination on the main page - after you've chosen mode "ISO", "write".

    I'd like to see you get some good discs of course, it really and truly does make all the difference -

    Let's give it a shot and see what happens - get back if it's not working, alright ??

    Pete


     
  4. aggie3263

    aggie3263 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks soooo much for your help...it'll be a couple of days before I can try any of your suggestions (I HATE work), :eek:) but I will most definitely give it a try! Thanks for the help, it is greatly appreciated!!
     
  5. aggie3263

    aggie3263 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay ScubaPete...it MUST be the DVD-RW's I'm using because I just did what you said, and as soon as I stuck the DVD in, in DVD Decrypter it says at the very bottom (below the picture of the drive with the arrow pointing to the CD): "Device Not Ready (Focus Servo Error)". What does that mean?
     
  6. aggie3263

    aggie3263 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What was the recommendation again of DVD-RW's to use? Or is it okay to purchase just DVD-R's? I am definitely no good at this stuff...but I'm learning!! :eek:)
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    aggie3263,

    Most standalone players won't play DVD RW's. they want single write media (if you have a stone age player, check the specs to see what media they will eat). Newer players will play a freezbie.

    You're looking for branded Verbatim or Ritek G04's OR any media boasting "Advanced AZO" Dye appliacation -

    cheers,

    Pete
     
  8. Kyser143

    Kyser143 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Scubie I have the same problem ...but slightly different ...i get same error on my Advent laptop using external pikaone dvd writer ...using Whitelabel x1 dvd-r i know they are cheap ..bought GradE A Ice dvd-r but same error...when i use mates sony via with in pikaone works a treat ...???
     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    The first thing you need to correct is your media.

    See my post above -

    Pete

     

Share This Page