1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I put a ooriginal dvd into my drive my computer reboots

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by g-string, Sep 22, 2004.

  1. g-string

    g-string Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have A problem When ever I put a ooriginal dvd into my drive my computer reboots. Any suggestions
     
  2. Adder01

    Adder01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Eeekkk.
    More info please.
    What is your hardware? Your software? Your OS?
    When did this start happening? Did you recently install any new hardware/software?
    Adder.
     
  3. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yes ... please post your system specs. O/S, processor, ram, hd, free hd space?
     
  4. g-string

    g-string Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Asus p4p800 Delux
    Intel P 2.8 g
    Xpet 128 ati rage 128 gl (pci)
    Win. Xp pro. Sp2
    DVDR Plextor px708a
    200 g Serial ata HD
    13 g IDE HD Primary
    kingston ddr 512 400
    Optiquest v775-2 on Xpert 128
     
  5. g-string

    g-string Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    and 100 g. HD
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    When did this start? Before or after the install of SP2?
     
  7. g-string

    g-string Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    after the install of sp2
     
  8. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    BINGO! Although your problem may be because of something else, SP2, IMHO opinion, is nothing more than an enhanced firewall/popup blocker. There is absolutely no benefit in installing it and a world of hurt for numerous peeps who have installed it.

    The worst thing about Windows Update, is that if you want to do a Format C: and install SP1 and all of the SP1 updates, you can no longer do it on Microsoft's site. There is a site, elsewhere, that has SP1 and all of the updates. If someone wants it, I will post it here, if that is not against the rules of posting.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Bruce Wallace
    Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

    3.06 Ghz Intel P4 CPU
    Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Motherboard
    1Gig Corsair 3200 LLPro DDR Ram
    Plextor PX 708A DVD Burner
    Sony CRX320E DVD 16x + CD-RW 52x24x52 Combo
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Video Card
    Audigy2 Platinum[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2004

Share This Page