1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Robot and dvd shrink

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Gretta, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    HI
    I was trying to back up I robot and I got RCE protection window that popped up. It had a tick in the usa/canda selected.
    I left it alone and let it do it thing. it encoded everything.
    then Dvd decrypter popped up. I could here my burner started and restarting. However it did not burn and I got this error message:

    From Dvd Decrypter:

    I/O Error!
    Device: [1:0:)] Sony DVD RW DRU 530A 2.1a(E:)(ATA)

    SciStatus: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

    CDB: 2A 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 20 00
    Interpretation: Wide (10)- Sector:32=63

    Sense Area: 70 00 03 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 73 03 00 00 00 00
    Interpretation: Power Calibration Area Error

    I am not sure what to do now. I am lost. Could some one help me out .

    My syterm I am running it XP, I have Sony dru530a dvd burner, 1024 mb rams,
    not sure what else you would need to know.

    Not sure if the RCE protection is the problem or something.
    thanks for the help.
    Gretta

     
  2. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    ok i thought maybe you need to see the log as well so I copied that.

    I 17:41:32 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.1.0 started!
    I 17:41:32 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 1)
    I 17:41:32 Initialising SPTI...
    I 17:41:32 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 17:41:32 Found 1 DVD-ROM and 1 DVD±RW!
    I 17:43:58 Operation Started!
    I 17:43:58 Source File: D:\DVD MOVIES\I_ROBOT_16X9.ISO
    I 17:43:58 Source File Sectors: 2,201,881 (MODE1/2048)
    I 17:43:58 Source File Size: 4,509,452,288 bytes
    I 17:43:58 Destination Device: [1:0:0] SONY DVD RW DRU-530A 2.1a (E:) (ATA)
    I 17:43:58 Destination Media Type: DVD+R (Disc ID: CMC MAG-F01-00) (Speeds: 2.4x, 4x)
    I 17:43:58 Destination Media Sectors: 2,295,104
    I 17:43:58 Write Mode: DVD
    I 17:43:58 Write Speed: MAX
    I 17:43:58 Test Mode: No
    I 17:43:58 BURN-Proof: Enabled
    I 17:43:59 Filling Buffer...
    I 17:44:01 Writing LeadIn...
    E 18:15:45 Failed to Write Sectors 32 - 63 - Power Calibration Area Error
    I 18:15:45 Synchronising Cache...
    I 18:15:45 Closing Track...


    thank You
    Gretta
     
  3. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Gretta,
    It seems that your burner doesn't like the discs you are using.
    I'm going to guess that they are Memorex? Am I right? Huh? Tell me, am I right? LOL
    I say this because of the Media ID in the log is CMC which usually linked to Memorex and both of which are linked to a whole bunch of failed burns.
    Here's a link so you can learn a little about Media and the quality of them.........
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

    I'd try switching brands and go from there. TDK, Maxell, and Sony are good brands that you can find at your local commercial retail store. You can find better prices and more selections by shopping online.
     
  4. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    Ok I have to feel up I purchsed this brand of dvd's called hypermedia.
    I still had Sony dvd's here that is what i originally was purchsing.

    Now the thing is my hubby guess that I mught need to use the better ones.
    I tried it and i still get that error. I still got the power calliberation error.

    going to try it again today in a few minuted, I turned the computer off and everything for the night.
     
  5. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    sorry.. that feel was suppose to be fess..lol
    i was typing fast.
     
  6. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
  7. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ok, here's a couple of things to consider....


    1st..what's the manufacturer ID of the sony media?
    Don't know? Need to know?
    try this tool....(don't worry, it's free)
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd-r_tools/dvd_identifier.cfm

    That should identify who made the discs and should we be wary. Sony generally is trustworthy but things change sometimes. Once you have the ID you can check it out at this site.....
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

    (Let's worry about #1 before resorting to #2)
    2nd....are you able to burn cd's in your drive?


    Usually a power calibration error is media related, but sometimes can actually be a fault in the laser. If you can't burn a CD either, does that mean your laser is going bad? More than likely not. It's quite possible that you may have gotten some dust in there and it just needs a good shot of compressed air to knock it off the laser.

     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2004
  8. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    well my burner is Sony DRU-530a I got it earlier this year.
    I have back up quite a bit of movies since then. I have sopied at least 25 of my movies with sony dvd's. but i have donne about quite a few on the k/hypermedia.

    Now I had roxio on my pc and my friend was tellin me she using Nero. so I put that on and took roxio off. Roxio I use to use to burn my cd's. now ihave to put something on to see if iwill burn cd's. I took Nero off.
    SO that is where i am at for now. I will put roxio back on and try to copy a cd.

    bbiaf
    thanks for the help
    Gretta
     
  9. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    oops i missed the media .. i am not srure about the manufacturer ID.
    have to look into that.
     
  10. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Don't put Roxio back on your PC.
    Nero and Roxio don't play well together in the schoolyard.
    Roxio also has a packet writing app that can be very greedy with your drive and not let other programs use it.

    Remove all types of Roxio tentacles and tendrils with Roxio Zapper –

    Find it here: http://www.microadvantage.net/downloads/zapper60.zip

    Nero also has a similar application called InCD. It is another program that doesn't like to be removed. Nero has some tools to remove itself completely.
    Find them here.....
    http://www.nero.com/us/631940828445001.html

    General Clean tool
    Registry cleaner and driver cleaner
    InCD Clean tool
    These will get rid of any leftovers from unistalling Nero.
    If you can, it would probably be best to borrow Nero again or download the free trial. Just don't install the InCD portion of Nero.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2004
  11. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    I am sorry I took roxio off.. LOL some one in here helped me set up my roxio and it worked fine with dvd x copy and dvd shrink.
    i only used it to make cd's. now i have to figure out what he did in order to ge tit back on or.. just put nero back on.

    oh btw I was able to copy my dvd today.

    thanks for the help. I am trying to defrag right now.

    I do have a question before i go off..I have two hard drives.
    I used dvd shrink and decrypter... i have it set to go t my second drive...

    I was wondering does dvd shrink leave a file on my c drive as well. because it looks like it keeps getting smaller..lol
    well u guys have a good evening will bbl
    Gretta
     
  12. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well I appreciate the "thanks" even though I really didn't help too much. Seems like your problem fixed itself. If your DVD burned successfully, I wouldn't worry about trying to burn a CD unless you want.
    Between Roxio and Nero, Nero is more than likely your best bet.
    Since you mentioned it, doing a defrag frequently(every few days), is a good idea. It can reduce the possibility of errors when the data is being written to the hard drive.

    The only reason I can think of that you are losing space on your C drive is if your are ripping with decrypter first and have not set a destination for your second drive.
     
  13. askyew

    askyew Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gretta you can burn cd's with nero also. I open nero smart start, then look at the top of the window and be sure that cd is showing in the drop down box, then scroll over the musical note sign and choose the type of cd you wish to burn.
     
  14. Gretta

    Gretta Guest

    i just popped in to see what people were saying.

    no i do dvd shrink first and then i use decrypter to write on the dvd. I am a little lost for what is going on with my c drive right now.

    will look more into it later.
    thanks guys :)

    you all are so helpful.. maybe one day i will get the know u all have.
     
  15. Brasco23

    Brasco23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have been having a lot of problems backing up dvd's lately. I use dvd dycrypter, then dvd shrink and burn with either nero or dvd dycrypter. It is not the media because i have been using the same kind for ages and wrked untill the past 2 months. Had problems with Day after tommorow, I Robot, and a few other. Please someone help me out.
     
  16. Brasco23

    Brasco23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have got I/O errors also if anyone has an idea if there is a bug with dvd dycrypter or dvd shrink let me know and let me know if they are working on an update. Thanks
     

Share This Page