1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I start Mame and it says,"No games found." Can anyone help me set this up?

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by irrelevant_pelican, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. irrelevant_pelican

    irrelevant_pelican Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I start Mame and it says "No games found. Please check the rompath specified in the mame.ini file."

    I dont see a mame.ini file anywhere, I even did a search for it and came up with nothing.

    Im surprised by the interface, is there not a version that would have "File, Open game," or something like a normal emulator for SNES or something?

    Anyway, can anyone give me a hand? Im lost.
     
  2. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    this is how the menu is on mine as you can see from ss it shows available games.you might of put roms in wrong folder or broken roms.
    [​IMG]







    this is the roms directory on mine where you put the games.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. irrelevant_pelican

    irrelevant_pelican Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the reply.

    Wow, that version looks way better than whatever I have. Let me show you what I see:

    --------

    No menu or anything.

    I first put the folder with the ROMs files (folder called Battletoads) in the Rom folder, but nothing happened. So then I just emptied the Battletoads folder and placed it in the Rom folder, still nothing.

    ---------

    This is strange, what version of Mame do you have? I think I should just get whatever youve got.

    Edit: okay I can't post links since I'm new here so I can't show you what I see...
     
  4. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    my version is mame32 0.103u2
     
  5. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    48
    what's in that MAME32ui ?? file.. it seems to say config settings.. open it up with a plaintext editor and see what's in there
     
  6. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    your right in the ui is configuration settings obviously.i was not the original poster of this thread and i dont know what files he does or doesn't have.without knowing what version of mame hes trying to run its kinda hard to know.

    i do know i tried several versions of mame before finding 1 that was actually simple to use,played a few games on it but havnt used it for ages.

    as for battletoads i don't recall it ever being on an arcade machine,nes and snes emulated versions work.I just checked its actually listed in mame32 directory.
     
  7. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    48
    trust me eh?.. the emulator expert.. even though I have no interest at all in MAME or running it XD
     

Share This Page