1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Idiot novice needs help burning copy-protected dvd's!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by etmkpeat, Oct 29, 2004.

1. etmkpeat

etmkpeat Member

Hi,
    I am completely new to the dvd burning game and foolishly believed I'd cracked it when I successfully burned a copy of 'School of Rock' borrowed from a friend,using NeroStartSmart. Then I tried to copy 'Runaway Jury' and came upon a whole host of problems. 'Runaway Jury' was copy protected so after much trawling of the internet I managed to find DVD Shrink and DVD decrypter. I have downloaded both and proceeded to copy the disc.
    All the files have downloaded and if I open the disc and open the video ts file I can play each chapter scene by scene by stopping and starting and selecting each scene individually.
    If I try to playback using WINMedia I get a black screen and what appears to be the soundtrack. If I try to playback using Power DVD a black screen opens up and then it reverts back to the power DVD logo. If I put the disc into my DVD player it tells me it cannot read the disc, and I need to check it - even though it recognises that there are 19 tracks present on the disc.
    What am I doing wrong?
    How can I burn discs so that I can play them on my DVD player? (my computer is in a very cold lonely room and I want to sit on my nice cosy couch to watch my films).

Please help me,

Kirsty
    :blush:

Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  2. rroettger

rroettger Regular member

Have you read the guides here for both programs. Some stand alone players may not play the disc format you are burning. What brand of media are you using? Are you using the full disc backup or re author from Shrink? Take us through the steps you used to make your disc.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    DELL Dimension 8300 XP Pro SP2
    Pentium 4 3.2GHz HT 1GB DDR SDRAM
    2x160GB RAID 0 SATA HDD
    16xDVD-ROM 8xDVD DL+R/+R/+RW