1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

If I burn XGD3 without iHas

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by arsenalforever, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I know that I won't be able to burn 100% data and only 97% of it will burn but I never go online so will it pose a problem if I burn the game without an iHas burner? Will the game be complete (since only 97% of it is burned)?
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. mrslicker

    mrslicker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    According to what i read when the ixtreme fw was pretty new the full write to optical disc is needed to pass validation checks, etc. Although it is possible SOME games will play anyway, this is only a limited number from a certain time period (and/or developers that do not invest time to the new checks) You should invest in an ihas burner with iXtreme fw. A particular type of media is recommended too:
    I have not performed these myself, just passing along what I have read.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  4. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm really not sure if my parents would allow me to spend that amount of money in a new drive. I'm thinking of getting FIFA 13, btw
     
  5. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Fifa 13 won't work truncated, EA is very straight forward with copy protection. Also these drives are like 20 Euro at ebay, if you produce 10 coasters that costs about the same.
     
  6. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Eisherz okay I'll try to convince them to buy it. I wish there was a way to load all the games you wanna play into your X360 hard drive or something.

    Can you tell me what type of drive I would need? For the drive to work, what system requirements would I need? Thanks for your help :)
     
  7. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have another problem.

    When I didn't have LT +3.0 whenever I inserted my Assassin's Creed: Revelations disc, the game would request me for an update but I couldn't update it since my Xbox isn't connected online.

    After getting LT +3.0 now when I insert it, I get an "Unsupported disc" message after the screen goes black for a few seconds after clicking Play.

    So my questions are:

    1. Why am I getting the "Unsupported disc" message? And
    2. In the future, what should I do if a game asks me for an update?
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  8. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    There are actually two ways to load all the games you want to play into a harddrive, one is the Xk3y or comparable modchips, the other would be a RGH. Both ways are quite expensive, so if you don't have the money for an IHAS burner that is out of the question.
    As for the burner, you need one of the 4s (124, 224, 324, 424, 524, 624), but make sure it's a revision B model, the older revision A models as well as the newer revision C models won't work.
    You could ask this guy here if his burner is revision B:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LiteOn-iH..._Storage_CD_DVD_Drives_ET&hash=item19d5902229
    You have to flash it with BurnerMax, if it is rev B and if you win the auction. The flashing is pretty easy, you don't have to open up anything.
    I don't know about the system requirements, but you already burned a game with your PC, so that shouldn't be the problem.

    About the unsupported disc thing: Patch your games with ABGX, I think you failed an AP2.5 check. If a game asks for an update and your console isn't connected to the internet, it is most likely a dashboard update, handle these with care.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  9. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Could you please be more specific as in what I should do if the above situation rises?


    Today I inserted Modern Warfare 2 (I didn't think that this was XGD3) and I got the same error: Unsupported disc.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  10. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I live in India so I'm posting a link from the Indian website of ebay. Please tell me if it'll do:



    It's for about 38 pounds (after conversion)


    Or you could suggest a better one from the below list:



    Got one here for approx 21 pounds but they've discontinued it because it keeps getting screwed up:



    I have a feeling you might recommend the one worth 38 pounds but what do you think of the other products after browsing the list? Is it true that the 124B keeps getting spoilt after a few burns?

    This one is the cheapest so far (13 pounds). I know it's not mentioned that it's a revision B-model but check out the comments. A guy says it's good for burning XGD3 backups.



    Thanks for your support.

    Another thing, is it necessary to use Verbatim discs? I've burned Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood and GTA IV on normal moserbaer dual layer discs and they work perfectly fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  11. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Normally a 2 MB buffer means it's a rev B model, so you could get lucky here:
    http://www.ebay.in/itm/Lite-On-Supe...681?pt=IN_CD_DVD_Drives_1&hash=item1c2b81de81
    But that really is just a hit or miss, you could also get a C.
    You might look into crossflashing:
    http://www.torrent-invites.com/miscellaneous/177024-xbox-360-how-crossflash-ixtreme-burner-max.html
    I have not tested this myself, so I can't say how good this works, but it might be worth looking into and seems to be pretty easy.
    About the Modern Warfare 2 thing: On what dashboard version are you? That game normally is an XGD2.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  12. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What about this one? See the first comment. The guy has used it for XGD3 burning but just to be on the safer side, I've sent an inquiry asking if it's a B revision model or a Y one.




    Dashboard: 2.0.14719.0

    It's XGD2 but it's AP 2.5 protected so maybe I failed the check?
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  13. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    With these shops it's hit or miss aswell, if they still have rev B in stock, you're lucky, but they have been out of production for a while by now, so it's quite unlikely. The cheapest method might indeed be crossflashing.
    The dash seems to be pretty outdated, the latest is 2.0.15574.0, yours was released February 2012. But still, Assassin's Creed Revelations should have worked without an update. About the unsupported game errors: Yes, this is due to AP2.5, as I said, patch the games with ABGX, to get the topology data needed.
     
  14. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Should I get a dashboard update or do I run the risk of getting my firmware reflashed to stock and losing LT +3.0? I'll let you know the answer once the website has replied. It's quite a renowned website and I'm sure they'll reply with the correct information.

    And if rev B models are out of production, how are people burning their XGD3 discs?

    Btw, if it is a B revision model, should I go ahead and buy it? And is it compulsory to use Verbatim discs made in Singapore. The same website (www.flipkart.com) is offering Verbatim discs too but I'm not sure if they're made in Singapore.
     
  15. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If it's a revision b (if they can guarantee you one), go ahead and buy it. Verbatims are the best media to burn Xbox 360 games to, no matter where they were produced, the Singapore ones are even better than the other ones.
    As you have seen yourself on ebay, the Revision B ihas models have started getting pretty expensive, but people still buy them, that's how they buy their XGD3 games.
     
  16. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    And your thoughts regarding my dashboard?
     
  17. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Update to the latest either by using an USB flash drive or a CD, you can download all you need from the official Xbox website under support, they also give you instructions.
     
  18. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, I know how to update it but the last time I tried updating my dashboard, I lost LT +3.0 and got reflashed to stock firmware.
     
  19. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That won't happen again, so far there was only one update that flashed back to stock.
     
  20. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey, the website responded. It's a revision Y model.

    So I guess I'll ask this guy () if his drive is a revision B model.

    Are you sure that there aren't any other revision B models in the list I gave you earlier in post #9?

    Thanks for your help.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  21. arsenalforever

    arsenalforever Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey, the ebay guy replied. It's a revision C model.

    So I guess our search for a revision B model continues... :(
     

Share This Page