1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ihas124b burn errors

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by DawgYa, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello people, please I need some help trying to figure out my iHas124b drive. It successfully flashed to iXtreme Burner MAX. It only goes to about 49-55% then it stops. I have tried changing sata port and cable, but did not help. I set the burn speed to 2x, but it seems to burn faster than my old drive. My old drive had to truncate the the iso, and took aprox 45 minutes. As soon as the new drive starts to burn a game IMGBURN(v2.5.6) reports 25 minutes remaining! That right away made me suspect something was wrong, and sure enough, I now have about 8 coasters. I am using Kodak media, never gave a problem with Kodak and RiData media in the past, they had always burned 100%, perfectly every time.
    I have set hypertuning in the eeprom menu, what other settings should I try?
     
  2. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    burnermax by default is only set to burn verbatim media, check the burning guides in the stickies to learn how to burn a different media.
     
  3. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I hate to sound like such a noob, but can you point me in the right direction?
     
  4. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  5. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I checked it out, made an adjustment in the settings, and I successfully burned & verified ace combat assault horizon, should I worry that it burned in about 25 minutes? It seems like it was about twice as fast as it should have been, but it was set to 2x write speed. It verified 100%, so would you trust it to be good?
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
  6. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Burning faster is not necessarily worse than burning slower. In fact, in some cases burning slower can be worse than burning faster.

    If you're concerned about the burn quality, read section 7 of the burning guide I wrote and post up the results of your KProbe scan.
     
  7. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am a bit confused, I am using Kprobe now, but how does it verify? I put in the burned disc, but it doesn't as for the location of the iso, so how does it know if it is a good burn?
     
  8. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When you verify a burn with ImgBurn, it attempts to read the disc you've just burned and it compares the data on the disc with the ISO on your hard drive.

    When you scan a burned disc with KProbe, it's looking for particular kinds of errors on the burned disc. It does not compare the data on the disc with the ISO. All burned/pressed discs have some errors on them, but what matters is that the errors are low enough so that the disc can be properly read.

    So, for example, you could burn 2 games using different DVD burners. Both of them verify OK in ImgBurn, yet one might be a worse quality burn than the other as it has more errors on it - just not enough to cause ImgBurn's verify to fail, but it still may be enough to cause your 360's DVD drive problems.

    If you post a screenshot of KProbe after you've scanned the disc (just hit the little floppy disc icon in the toolbar to save a screenshot), I can tell you how good your burns are and whether the error rates on the disc are acceptable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  9. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  10. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, unfortunately that's basically a coaster. The bars on the blue part of the graph should go no higher than 280 (and for XGD3 burns, some recommend it goes no higher than 100). In your case, it goes up to 1,297. The red bars should go no higher than 4 unless it's a single spike, but in your case it goes up to 161 and it's not just single spikes.

    You're going to either need to try different burns settings, better quality media (which I highly recommend), or both.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  11. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah, I was afraid of that. I do think that it is burning way too fast, no matter what I set it to it completes a burn in 22-25 minutes.
     
  12. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    In the drive's firmware are write strategies that tell it how to handle particular types of discs. The burn speed is dictated by that. The drive manufactures will block out non-supported because they don't work well with those particular types of disc. In your case, the discs you're using don't work well with the burner at all, but then they're cheap media that's prone to bad burns anyway.
     
  13. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just bought some Verbatim 8x media, I set it to 2.4 and it is burning now. I think this time it will work, it reports burn time will be 42 minutes, not the previous 25 minutes with the cheap media. When I am done I will run it with Kprobe2 to see where it rates. But I think it is going to work this time. I am totally shocked that the media makes such a profound difference!
    I wonder if c4eva, or Team Xecuter own stock in Verbatim?? LOL
     
  14. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Ok, this is what I got with Kprobe2 but both my consoles, one benq the other liteon both with lt+ 3.0 say it is unsupported.
    at this rate backups are getting more expensive than retail...
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  15. tgunnz22

    tgunnz22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you patch the topology data on the iso with XBC
     
  16. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    **GASP**
    What? please fill me in on that one!
     
  17. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  18. tgunnz22

    tgunnz22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    heres the steps for doing it, there is a universal patch out for most games http://www.mediafire.com/?4xetj2liew3etwu

    Patching COD:MW3 -> XGD3 disc (all XGD3 have AP2.5 checks)
    Patching COD:MW2/BO -> XGD2 disc with AP2.5 checks

    As per C4eva XGD3.Profile.ID.F87A804E.top.data.v1.bin covers all current XGD3 releases (at the time of writing) except for Halo: Reach XGD3 beta.
    XGD2.COD-BO.COD-MW2.Halo-Reach.top.data.v1.bin is for COD:MW2/BO
    Topology data for other AP2.5 games is not available at this time, you will need to wait for ABGX360 release, re-rip your originals with Xbox.Backup.Creator.v2.9.0.350, or patch with verified topology data for that game.

    1) Run Xbox Backup Creator v2.9
    2) Go to Image Tools
    3) On the bottom right is the option to Extract or Inject, you're gonna want to Inject.
    4) Click AP2.5 Sector
    5) Select the iso you want to patch.
    6) Select the .bin file you want to inject (check the nfo in this package to determine the right one).
    7) Check the log on XBC to make sure it's done it.
    8) Done.
     
  19. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it isn't mentioned in the burning guide, anything else I need to know?
     
  20. DawgYa

    DawgYa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks!
    FINALLY WORKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    So am I live safe??
     

Share This Page