1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm a beginner

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by jasonrmn, Feb 27, 2005.

1. jasonrmn

jasonrmn Member

OK, so I think I have all the tools I need... Shrink, DVD decrypter, and Nero. In fact, I can successfully burn discs either by starting shrink, and ISO to HD, then burn with DVD Decrypter, OR, to HD, then Nero. THe problem is that no matter which method I choose, there still appears to be skips in playback on a DVD player. Usually closer to the end of the disc if this means anything? I have a dual layer 16x max burner. I have used three different blank media choices. and have usually tried to maintain a burn speed of half the max write speed for the dvd. Are there any settings I need to play with? I am not familiar at all with many of the settings which can be toggled.... Anyone with experience have any time to help a poor soul like me - PLEASE?

2. herbsman

herbsman Moderator Staff Member

It means you are (more than likely) using cheap/inferior media.
    I would suggest , if you aren't already using ... Ritek G05 or maybe Taiyo Yuden DVDRs

3. dvdauthor

dvdauthor Guest

it probably is your media....I have recently had a problem with bad media - I can get about an hour on my Imation DVD-R's - anymore than that - I either A - get an "error" if i'm copying or it will finish and look terrible past the hour/hour and a half mark....

I ordered taiyo media -R's - hopefully they work better for me - and hopefully you'll have better luck.

4. eric545

eric545 Regular member

jasonrmn

Try this. First Decrypt then use DVD Shrink and lastly burn at the slowest speed that is allowed by your burner. If you are unfamiliar with how to use Decrypter and or Shrink, check out the links on this page of mine

Last edited: Feb 28, 2005
  5. jasonrmn

jasonrmn Member