1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i'm a newbie to burning

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by moonberry, Oct 4, 2002.

1. moonberry

moonberry Member

i need help burning vcd's! i get my videos from kazaa! and then after that i dont know what to do! i need step by step instructions! on how to burn and what freeware programs i can use to burn i alreadt have nero and tmpgenc encoder! is there anything else i may need! if not then how do i use the programs that i have! i have worked on this for weeks and weeks! and still nothin! i always get the error that the movie is unsupported! hope someone can help me with some easy instructions!

2. Tom21

Tom21 Member

Your problem is probably, that you don`t have the right codex installed.

Go to www.divx.com

And download the newest codex + the newest version of their divx player.

Install the codex, they are downloaded as *.exe files, in ure choosen directory.

Install the DivX software ie divx.exe

or a folder named divx, with setup.exe as the installation file.

Afther installation, u may have to restart ure system, depending on the programs u`ve installed / the current Operation System ure using. Just Do It to be on the safe side.

Restart computer....

(I assume u use Windows as your operation system)

Then...

Start the divx software...

(if u follow the basic installation procedures, a shortcut will be added to your program menu

Start ---> Prgrograms ---> DivX

Press the load symbol...
    (looks completely like the button u push, when u re want to insert a new cd on ure stereo / video cassete in ur vcr

Then find ure movies, and select the one you want to watch.

Your problem should be fixed now....

3. Jake

Jake Active member

First thing, remember that re-encoding always causes quality loss.