1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm new at DVD burning - what's the difference between DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD+RW, and DVD-RW?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by Raijin, Nov 24, 2003.

1. Raijin

Raijin Member

I noticed on the cover of the first dvd-r i tried to burn, it has on the cover,

"For use with dvd-rw/dvd-ram only"

I have no clue as to what this means, and recently i've seen posts with dvd(+)r and +rw in them. Does this + and - signs mean something important? Like, could it affect the probability of the game backup working?

._.?

Also, might as well put this in here to save forum space, the first DVD game i tried to burn was Chaos Legion. It appears to have copied successfully, onto a Memorex dvd-R.
    The box cover says it's a single sided disc, and it's version 2. Under the dvd symbol, it says r4.7 I'ts a 4.7GB CD, and the burn side is purple-blue. Is this a good CD to use? If so, I probably screwed up the burn process, but if not, I gotta know why. ^_^

2. antons

antons Member

Just go to www.dvdrhelp.com and read the articles...

3. DogBomb

DogBomb Regular member

Think of +R and -R as VHS and Betamax. They're not the same. Your ability to write on them depends on your DVD burner. If you bought one of the recent ones which can burn onto both +R and -R (it'll say on the burner), then you don't have to even think about it. Only point worth mentioning is that -R has slightly better compatibility with DVD players than +R. You should practice on RWs first because these are rewriteable and you can burn over your mistakes esp. when you first start burning.

4. Raijin

Raijin Member