1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i'm new to burning, i need help

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by jimboss, Jan 19, 2003.

1. jimboss

jimboss Member

WARNING, EXTREME BEGINNER
    i'm very new to the cd burning world, i've copied, music files, easily. but now i want to move on and burn computer games, which are a friends, (so i want to burn a burnt game), i tried simply copying the files but when i run the newly burnt game it says it has files from different areas (media player, image files etc), when i manually click on auto-run it says to enter the correct CD-ROM.
    All help would be greatly appreciated, and i'm an inexperienced beginner so please word in a way that i will underestand.

2. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

As for music files (that can never be copied but need to be extracted/ripped) often game CDs cannot simply be copied.

The reason is simple: when you copy files, even if they are standard PC files (this is even more true for exotic PSX/PS2 files that cannot even be seen by a PC without proper applications) you tamper with the file system stucture.

Some changes can be seen and fixed (the disc label, for instance). Some can be more subtile (the Logical Block Address - or LBA - that means the physical sector - in which the boot file is stored). Some could be impossible to detect even with sophisticated disc analyzers like WinISO or ISOBUSTER (the subchannels for audio tracks and the subchannel for data tracks, often used for copy protections).

For this reason, you often need to Extract a *full disc* RAW-Image (a digital byte-by-byte copy of the disc layout: the famous ISO, or CUE/BIN, or NRG, or CCD/SUB/IMG file - this depends upon the application you use). To do that you need a proper application. Often the same application is used to 'burn images' (that is to create a new CD-ROM from the digital image)