1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Image problem converting VHS to DVD - football game

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by janders9, Jan 21, 2005.

1. janders9

janders9 Guest

I am new to converting VHS to DVD, and for my first project what I wanted to do is convert some old college football games to DVD. My problem comes when I am done burning the DVD and go to play it on the TV through a regular DVD player, things are fine like commericals, and broadcaster shots, but when the screen switches to the actual plays the players become blocky ( for lack of a better description, as if the resolution has deteriorated, but resumes to normal when they go back to a view of the broadcasters, commercial or sideline.
    Has anyone else experienced this?? If so what do I do to correct it??

Thank you

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2005
  2. janders9

janders9 Guest

anybody ??

3. janders9

janders9 Guest

Bueller?..................... bueller??

4. Minion

Minion Senior member

Blockyness is usually Caused from there not being enough Bitrate to Encode the Image or from Plain Low Quality Encodeing....Scenes were there is a Lot of Motion and detail will need a Much Higher Bitrate to encode than Scenes that are Not so make sure you have a High enough Bitrate.....

5. pfh

pfh Guest

Yeah, what minion said. Increase the CAPTURE bitrate and it should produce a better end product. Don't exceed 98000kb due to dvd spec. issues and allow for plenty of free HD space. The resulting mpeg is quite large- 4 gig and up.

6. janders9

janders9 Guest

Ok I will give it a try, Thank you =)

7. janders9

janders9 Guest