1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

increase my download rate

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by theone3nu, May 22, 2007.

1. theone3nu

theone3nu Member

hi friends... my net connection is cable net broadband. so i dont have any modem or router.my download rate is too poor. anyone please help me how to increase my torrent download rate.

2. UncleNic

UncleNic Member

Hi, I'm also a newbie but just want to say that your download speed is proportional to your upload speed, so read the excellent guides on this site to check settings etc. I changed from dynamic to static IP address and set up port forwarding and now speeds are much, much faster than before. Good luck!

3. mistycat

mistycat Active member

If you have a client that supports Protocol Encryption, enable it. This link shows how for Azureus, utorrent and BitComet: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/395674 Also disable UPnP (it may be in newer versions of utorrent). Use a port over 10,000 and set your upload speed in your client. Go here: http://www.speedtest.net/ run a speedtest and when you obtain your upload speed, divide it by 8 and take .8 of that to use (10% of total works, too). Check it over several days (including weekend) to get a reliable average. And, if you have any more than one download open at once, your speed will suffer.

Last edited: May 22, 2007
  4. theone3nu

theone3nu Member

hi i changed my download rate proportionate to my upload rate. but how to change dynamic to static...... please tell me clearly thanks for advance...... and thanks for posting reply...

5. theone3nu

theone3nu Member

hey mistycat thanks for replying.. but how to know that my client supports protocol encryption. wat is protocol encryption. please help me to increase my download rate.......

6. UncleNic

UncleNic Member

Hi, have a look at http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm