1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infinity PS2 Backup Problem....

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by frosty420, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. frosty420

    frosty420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just had my PS2 modded with an Infinity modchip (v1.21). My PS2 I can play CD and DVD backups fine, but I'm having difficuly with something that I was coutning on this chip working with...

    My PS1 backups will not play at all. I picked a few at random and the majority will not play...some begin to load up, then after a few seconds the screen with the memory card manager pops up...finally it goes to the red screen that says "please insert a PS2/PS1 CD/DVD"

    Some games will play, but the screen is blank. I can hear everything just fine, select menus and start up the game...the screen is just black.

    Other games will load up and play just fine, but I've only found about 2 out of the 20 I've tested will work fine...and the two I tested are pretty mainstream games.

    Any ideas? I am holding the circle button when booting up to force-boot, but I still get the aforementioned errors...also, I have a PS1 modded and all of the games I've tested work perfectly fine on that.

     
  2. DBZB126

    DBZB126 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    there is a V 1.39 out there rite now. upgrade the infininty and see if it works.

    my PS1 games work without a problem.
     
  3. frosty420

    frosty420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had someone else do this for me as a service. How would one upgrade the chip?
     
  4. DBZB126

    DBZB126 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    go here

    http://infinitymod.com/cgi-bin/matrix/site.pl?page=infinity_software

    go down to where it says
    INFINITY Firmware Upgrade V1.39 - 30/12/2004(DOWNLOAD NOW)

    and click on download now.
    once you have unzipped it, it should be a bin file and a cue file. use alcohol 120% to burn the cue and bin file on a CD. NOT a DVD.

    put the CD in your PS2 and follow the instructions.
     
  5. frosty420

    frosty420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just burned it to CD (1.39)...

    it says "programming, please wait" after I hit start to upgrade it, and I can hear the drive reading the CD, but nothing's happened...

    previous version was 1.21. I downloaded the firmware upgrade released on 12/30/04...

    Do I have to upgrade to previous versions before this one?

    ::EDIT::

    I also tried the v1.3 update. Still nothing. It attempts to update, eventually stops reading the disc and just hangs at the "Please Wait" screen...
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2005
  6. romero

    romero Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Maybe your chip isn't real Infinity...
     
  7. briyam

    briyam Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    where did you buy your chip from because there is a warning on the team matrix website that there are alot of fake chips out but you can tell the difference they have a pic of a real and a fake. check the site out!
     
  8. frosty420

    frosty420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got it installed from a guy...I don't know the first thing about installation, but he assured me it'd play PS1 just fine....

    I'll ask him. I also emailed the guys from infinity...

    Any other suggestions? I take it NOBODY has had this problem, right?
     
  9. briyam

    briyam Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i have 2 infinity chip but neither installed i chose swap magic and flip top but when i order the chip i remember the update the chips look almost identical but the structure of the chip is different you cant tell without seeing a pic of a fake and a real one side by side. But then again it maybe something with the power cable to the chip being to long i read that somewhere in the forum. but i would take it back and get them to look at it, and if they refuse just call your credit card company and tell them that they sold you faulty equipment.
     

Share This Page