1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

install fcmb exploit with xploder v5 with/out xlink

Discussion in 'PS2' started by cv65user, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have read read read read how to install exploit and i am confident to get it working .

    i have the following hardware :
    ps2 bulky uk - no network card yet
    xploder v5
    xlink cable
    8mb mc
    asorted usb sticks

    ** step 1 titleman
    basically grab a ps1 cd
    get its slus/slue id
    or can read off cd physically
    or open system.cnf file
    open titelamn
    create title db
    PAL uses SLES or SCED in this format SCUS_000.00 (case sensative)
    Add Exec
    click list to double check
    save and exit

    ** Step 2 - Building the Exploit Game Save
    open save builder
    shall use , PAL - BEDATA-SYSTEM typed in root id
    add BOOT.ELF from the uLaunchELF zip file
    add your TITLE.DB
    save as BEDATA-SYSTEM as any file as xploder v5 (latest version) doesnt use any of these file name extensions
    after make sure hidden file extensions in windows is unticked
    and rename BEDATA-SYSTEM .xxx to BEDATA-SYSTEM.ps2 as this is what xploder v5 uses.

    *** ps2
    start up your PS2 and delete the "Your System Configuration" save. If you don't, it could cause a conflict.

    to boot your cheat device, plug in your USB thumb drive into your PS2 and transfer the game save using the Save Manager in the cheat device. BY GOING TO DEVICE MANGER AND COPY SAVE FILE CREATED FROM USB TO MC

    Don't be alarmed when the save shows up with the name "NEW_FILE" its normal. Once the PS2 is rebooted, that folder will become "Your System Configuration" again, only with the exploit files in there with it. (notice that the file size is now over 300KB instead of 5KB)

    Place your PS1 "trigger disc" in the tray and select it. You should now see a white flash, and then uLaunchELF screen appear.

    OK NOW WE CONFIRM ulaunch test ok

    now put free mcboot v1.8 and browse to usb0:\ and run freemcboot.elf

    have i got it right guys?

    *******can i make use of my xlink cable some how ???******** meraning to connect a windowd pc via a xlink cable to ps2 to directly install fmcb to mc withoiut exploiting - i am willing to be beta tester for this ..

    thx and credit goes to these guys http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/freevast/58545-fmcb-installer-boot-tutorials-3.html and at sksapps as i get most of my info from there
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2009
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    *******can i make use of my xlink cable some how ???******** meraning to connect a windowd pc via a xlink cable to ps2 to directly install fmcb to mc withoiut exploiting - i am willing to be beta tester for this ..


    thx and credit goes to these guys http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/freevast...utorials-3.html for the verification and at sksapps as i get most of my info tutorial knowledge from there
     
  4. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok if i am right , you may skip putting the save game build file BEDATA-SYSTEM.ps2 onto usb by installing the xploder v5 xlink software and uploading the .ps2 save build file straight to mc from windows pc .
     
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  6. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi smokeyrain haha i knew you would possibly reply . yes all the info i have gathered was actually from you and i saw your reply on console exploits thats when i saw afterdawn and realised you posted on afterdawn more often then console exploit.

    i got my xploder v5 with xlink cable , but ill still use usb method as i find it easier as my ps2 is recognising my 1gb micro sd tf card . just waiting for my ps1 cd .

    just one thing is this bit =

    i was just doing a practice run when i put my bedata-system.ps2 file from usb to mc , mine dont change file name to independence exploit . it just remains the same bedta-system.ps2 file name even after reboot of ps2 .

    edit - ah i have just re read that tutorial and it says to save the save build file name as .md - codeshark but i was saving it as the nearest format . ie . xpldoer v4 when my xploder was version v5 . so i will try that now and update
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    lol, yes I am all over and as "windrider" also

    Yes it will make a difference how you name the save
    Good luck then, hope it works
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2009
  8. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and so i ran ps2 save builder , saved as .md file , then rename to .ps2 file . i copy to usb drive , then booted xploder v5 and loaded mem card manager and copy the bedata-system.ps2 to mc . it was still the same file name and it never changed, i rebooted ps2 and went into memory caard browseer but still the filename remained the same . hmm , only time can only tell when i get the actual ps1 cd .
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  10. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ah right , i am learning . lol . its niggly little bits like that i think most people commonly over look .

    what about root id in save game builder ? that must be BEDATA-SYSTEM OR BEDATA-SYSTEM.PS2?
     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    That would just be BEDATA-SYSTEM

    Then what I do is just copy it, make new folder,rename the folder to BEDATA-SYSTEM, Select "save as" in PS2_save_Builder and select which extension you want.
     
  12. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm i got ps2 sph 50003 uk pal . and i bought nba live 2000 , it says SLES 02358 on cd box nothing on cd . but sys.cnf and get id confirms its SLES_023.58 .

    after creating the title.db , i opened it in notepad to confirm that it showed SLES_023.58 somewhere amongst the random data symbols .

    then i open ps2 saavebuilder , and select new , typed BEDATA-SYSTEM in root id . drag and dropped title.db and the boot.elf file from ulaunch rar package v4.12

    saved the file as following =
    BEDATA-SYSTEM.md
    BEDATA-SYSTEM.xps
    BEDATA-SYSTEM.p2m
    copied BEDATA-SYSTEM.md and rename to BEDATA-SYSTEM.ps2 extension

    put the files onto usb , booted xploder v5 and went to memory manager and formatted mc , and trasnsferred the files as above to mc , and i reboot ps2 and went into mc memory browser to confirm the files had been copied over but they all just retained the same file names (not looking good ).

    so i just put in nba live 2000 , reboot ps2 , but it just boots straight to game AHHHHHHHH

    also in the title db 800+ game list doesnt list nba live 2000 working but 99 pre works :(

    pls help rainey . many thx .
     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok so sorry, lets start over.

    First you need to make the exploit using PS2 Exploit Utility 5.1
    http://www.console-exploits.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7872

    Then you will save as an .xps file

    You then Open Ps2 Save Builder 0.8 to view the xxxxx.xps file then click on FILE, SAVE AS then selecting the option for .md (Sharkport)with the name BEDATA-SYSTEM.md

    Then find the file BEDATA-SYSTEM.md and rename the file extension to BEDATA-SYSTEM.ps2 in windows by right clicking on the file and selecting rename.

    Then follow the rest of that tutorial.
     
  14. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WOOOOOOO

    i got it to work , i used the utility and then coverted the xps to BEDATA-SYSTEM.p2m file not . ps2 .

    then u have to have xlink cable to upload the ***folder ***the p2m file is contained in , i was previously uploading just the p2m file from usb stick to mc , and i knew it werent working because it wasnt changing file name .

    as soon as i uploaded the windows yellow folder containting the p2m file . xploder then changed the filename to new_file .

    i rebooted . now i am installing fmcb as we spk !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    many thx rain , i will re post tomorrow
     
  15. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also stupid , xploder windows software , it only says in manual small print , your ps2 xploder cd must be loaded to its xploder v5 menu and left there whilst u connect the xlink cable up to your pc . in order for your pc to detect it .
     
  16. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok i am getting on nicely using cog swap . some games after i cog swapped it just shows game logo trailer quickly and then ps2 will keep rebooting with free mcboot logo in the cetre of screen .

    is this because the original TOC wasnt big enough ?
     
  17. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It could be the TOC refresh size, or the game is not compatible with Cogswap.
    You can try CDloader instead for those games.

    Why don't you just patch the ISO images with ESR disc patcher and use the ESR.ELF to play them.
     
  18. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i used metal gear solid sons of liberty 2 (with bonus cd packege) to cogswap all 15 of my backed up games. but about 7 do not work . metal gear solid sons of liberty 2 boots gta 3 and deviil may cry so TOC size should be no problem ?

    but they are 'aone' non printable 8x , purple dye dvds all from same 100 shrink wrap pack . but i am gearing towards as bad rip/copy as reason for blank screen . some games like wipe out fusion is only 1gig game and u can see its only used like a quarter for the purple on the dvd but it loads the trailer but then after either letting trailer play fully or pressing start to cut it short sends ps2 in to constant fmcb reboot cycle .

    i got hold of cdloader and dvdloader iso files. so i just burn them to cd/dvd then refresh toc with metal gr solid then insert dvdloader/cd loader then i presume to cogswap again method to my stubborn game . ie wipe out fusion . lol

    do u have cogswap game compatibility list ? i found one where it shows which dvd / pal cd /dvd game has largest toc size in order of size descending .
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  19. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok that brand of discs could very well be a problem.

    You can use the cdloader just like cogswap, no need to use the cogswap again.
    Just use it in them same method.

    I don't know of any compatibility lists for cogswap, sorry.

    I would just say whichever ones don't work with cogswap, just use ESR for them then.
     
  20. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    origiinally i wanted to keep all my ps2 games one format . as i also wanted to eventually transfer all ps2 games to iso onto hdd for hda/hdl playing method . but i might scrap that idea as all network apaters on ebay have suddeenly increase to about 30 quid !!!

    1
    so yeah your right , i might just esr patch all future ps2 game back up . i have read it and it seems its only 5 second job to esr patch but do you have any good links for me ?

    2
    so ... obviously all my esr patched games, when 'IF' i do eventually transfer to iso for hda/hdl . will hda/hdl still reocnginse esr patched isos .???

    2a
    also are esr patched games problematic ? like same priciple applies need to be on good quality dvd media ?

    3
    also when i installed my fmcb v1.8 for noobies . i realise it has old version of ulaunch v4.30 beta!?!?! but skspps have v3.47 ? so is it possible to install the new version of ulaunch without having to go through ps1 trigger disc again ? can i just copy over the boot.elf file from usb to mc?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  21. cv65user

    cv65user Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    right forget that i know how to esr patch . - trying a ps2 matrix game at moment , does it apply to cd isos also .

     

Share This Page