1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing an ON/OFF switch on Magic 3.1

Discussion in 'PS2' started by JVegas, Feb 23, 2003.

  1. JVegas

    JVegas Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone have some good information and diagrams on this?
    Anything would good. Just need some for cross referance with others I found. They seem to conflict each other.
    Thanks!
     
  2. L-dubb

    L-dubb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is really no need for the on/off switch for the 3.1. they came up w/ this switch because of the error in the original magic 3. The new code in the 3.1 fixes that problem so there is no need for it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2003
  3. T-Minus10

    T-Minus10 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If I'm not mistaken, the Magic 3.1/3.6 is supposed to turn itself off after 4 or so seconds. You can delay boot until after then if you hold down the reset button for that much time.
     
  4. jr_

    jr_ Guest

    Doing this on a 3.1 does not seem logical.
    There may be a reason for the 3.0, since the 3.1 won't work with Dues Ex and Max Payne and probably many more to come.
    However it might not be a good idea because of the lenght of the wire needed. You would be adding a lot of inductance with this much wire.
    If you do want to try this just use a switch to open the circuit, don't switch it to ground.
    There are folks selling a little programable chip to shut off the magic 3.0 after 1 minute.
    Very cheap.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2003

Share This Page