1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Linux with XP

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by misty2055, Feb 1, 2007.

1. misty2055

misty2055 Member

I am new to linux and would like to install it on the same HD as my current XP. At present this is on a 200GB drive with no seperate partition. The version of Linux is XP 2007 which I believe is based on Fedora. It is a Live CD but gives the option to install.
    As I have not partitioned a HD before I would appreciate advice on doing this. (I have been told that Linux will automatically create its own partition during install but that sounds too easy!)

I would like the option of choosing the boot OS as well.

Thanks

2. lecsiy

lecsiy Regular member

Ok,

If i were you id download Gparted Live. This is like your live linux diistro. Now do as you would for your current with this gparted live. Once at the menu screen for gparted live you should see your harddrive with a single partition. Click that partition and then click re-size. Make this as small as you want it (This will be the new size of the partition thats running windows) Now when you instatll your distro just chose the option to use the free space on your harddrive. This should then install your distro onto the free space youve created!

Lecsiy

P.s I hope you dont mind me using your question in the FAQ for my guide!
    Any problems with that just contact me :)

Last edited: Feb 1, 2007
  3. misty2055

misty2055 Member

Thanks for that advice. No problem with you using my question in your guide.
    Can I just ask you what you would suggest as parition sizes bearing in mind that my HD is 200GB. Also I have heard a lot about Linux being fairly immune to virus attack. Not sure how true or safe that is! Will my existing Firewall and Antivirus work across both partitions?

Thanks again.

4. fulhack

fulhack Member