1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing new optical drives

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by Noobling, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi there can anyone help?i have a fujitsu siemens pc with a philips DROM 6216 and a GWA 4164B.I wanted to change the GWA as i kept getting burnt dvds that froze.I put in a brand new samsung SH S182D but for some reason it will not read any discs i followed all the instructions and set it to slave but no joy ,please help
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    are both drives on same cable? if so then which is jumpered as master & which is jumpered as slave? are they both jumpered as cable select? compare the old drive jumper position to the new drive jumper position.
     
  3. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for looking,yes both drives (new and old) set to slave
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does the bios see the new drive? is there an exclamation mark in device manager? is there an error code like 19?
     
  5. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The computer did recognize the drive i do not know about the exclamation mark will have to set it up again to check.Gotta go to work now so will do tomorrow about midday.Hope you around tomorrow to give me some help.I thought changing a drive was supposed to be easy.
    Cheers.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sometimes yes & sometimes no as it depends on the system.
     
  7. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    There is no exclaimation mark or error code
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try reversing the jumpers around so that what is now slave is master & what is master is now slave.
     
  9. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just tried that still the same,1st drive works as normal,second (new) one little green light quickly flashes when you put in a dvd or cd then stops after a couple of mins and does nothing,now i am changing jumpers back to how they were.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try the new drive by itself.
     
  11. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How? shall i plug the master part of the ribbon in new drive and set drive to master?
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes
     
  13. Noobling

    Noobling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Done it still the same
     

Share This Page