1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

intalling vista. pls. help!

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by kayamokid, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
     
  2. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's the upgrade path...and unfortunately, no, no one here can help you.

    That upgrade advisory is one of the few things that works in Vista. You will have to follow it word for word, if you expect to install Vista as an upgrade.

     
  3. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i manage to install it. i think its just bec. of the softwares. specially deamon tools, anyway i got new prob now. i cant log-in in yahoo msgr is vista blocking yahoo msgr?
     
  4. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Shut off the firewall as you did in XP.
     
  5. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ah i get it yahoo msgr is not a compatible program w/vista better wait for yahoo msgr vista editio. anyway tnx for helping cheers.
     
  6. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hmmmmm.....I was pretty sure Yahoo 8.1 was compatible with Vista....but I've never tried installing it.
     
  7. uponthis

    uponthis Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The latest version of Yahoo works fine on Vista. I'm having no problem with it what-so-ever!!!
     
  8. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what do u mean latest version? is it the 8.1.0.195? coz i got the latest version but it doesn't work? can u tell me which version u have?
     
  9. uponthis

    uponthis Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I got whatever version thats on the Yahoo webpage. Should be the same. (had to reinstall Vista over the weekend)
     
  10. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yahoo messanger 8.1 works with Vista, i have it and use it
     
  11. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i manage to install yahoo but when i try to log-in... it doesn't work. it always fails. note that my firewall is turn off while doing that. can u guys log-in in yahoo using vista?
     
  12. uponthis

    uponthis Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mine works just fine. No problems here.
     
  13. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wtf i cant see why mine isnt working. but when i try my second os (xp pro) it works. anyone knows what went wrong?
     
  14. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    not to say the same thing that every else has been saying on this site for months, but you installed vista. that's what went wrong.
     
  15. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    but vista is ok. i guess i just need to wait for yahoo msgr vista compatible. i found one problem again vista aero works when i started vista but after few hours it doesnt work anymore. is that what makes this poeple hate vista?
     
  16. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    oh, people hate vista for a long long list of reasons.
     
  17. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how bout having a dual o.s.?
     
  18. Skitzy

    Skitzy Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If your just casually asking I'll give you my reason.. I don't like being told what I can or can't do.. (DRM) I guess you could say I'm digitally oppositional defiant. Seriously though.. Is that one reason not reason enough to just turn and walk away? I'm astonished that people are buying this crap.. they are like lemmings walking off a cliff or sheep gathering for the slaughter, not only are they doing it.. but they are doing it willingly.. WTF MAN?!!
     
  19. kayamokid

    kayamokid Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    but not all some got nothing to lose! free! is always good. i mean im just trying it and i dont find any reason to say its crap. anyway for my opinion its one great os but maybe sooner or later i'll change my mind. lol
     
  20. Skitzy

    Skitzy Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I wish I could remember where I read it but I read somewhere that you can't undo the changes that installing Vista makes. I think it was something to do with flashing the BIOS but don't quote me on that. Anyhow, it's something you may want to inquire about before you make any permanent changes to your pc. Seems to me that only M$ would make something that permanently altered your machine leaving you stuck with them or else.

    please note: that I don't know much about Vista... I just like to check in from time to time to see how it's all panning out for you Vista fockerz. I will try my hand @ every distro out there and keep my xp before I ever dream of installing vista. Pretty soon I'm gonna go all out like Janrocks suggest and drop M$ all together. (think it's the only true way to get it)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2007

Share This Page