1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet Security Effecting U Torrent ???

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by maggott, Aug 9, 2007.

1. maggott

maggott Member

Hi and sorry in advance if this has been answered elsewhere, I did do a search but couldn't find anything.

I've been using U Torrent (and previously Bit Comet) for about 18 months and never really had any problems. I got a new PC and put U Torrent on and it worked fine. Now though I am struggling to get download speeds of 60kbps when in the past I was reaching around the 300 mark. I have gone through the U Torrent guide and as far as I can see everything is as it should be. I know i should set the firewalls on my PC to accept U Torrent but for speed sake I have turned off windows, trend pc-cillin and my router firewall but it seems to make no difference. My internet seems fine when U-Torrent is off but as soon as I open it my speed deteriorates. I have ran a speed test and that comes out as down 941Kbps and up 120Kbps (while U Torrent is close) could there be something I am missing in trend or windows that is causing the problem. Please treat me as a complete computer inept, I really have very little knowledge ad would rather someone give me an idiots guide than i waste everyones time with I don't understand questions.

Thanks in advance

Claire

2. AfterDawn

AfterDawn Advertisement

3. jeffw224

jeffw224 Regular member

I would like to make sure about the numbers you are posting, as 8kbs = 1kBs. Please recheck and make sure you are posting the "b" correctly.

As far as I have seen, uTorrent lists its speeds in kBs. So that 60 could be equal to 480kbs.

If your test was 941kbs that would be slightly less than 118kBs. The 120kbs would be 15kBs.

Since you said you were getting 300 before (I am assuming 300kBs = 2400kbs), have you switched ISPs?

What setting did you use in the uTorrent speed guide?