1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

invalid media

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by turner, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. turner

    turner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    help please i have just built a new pc spac asus mobo 512 dual channel ddr 120 gig hdd asus cdrw nec dvd1300a every time i try to copy a dvd i can burn an image to the hard drive but when it comes to cpying the imafe to dvd i keep gettin the message invalid media i am using nero 6.4 i think. my writer is multi format and i am using dvd-r discs white top can anyone help please. sledgehammer getting twitchy
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ummm, what media are you getting the error with? Brand/rated speed/+R or -R would help.
     
  3. turner

    turner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its unbranded media rated at 4x
     
  4. turner

    turner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    and its -r
     
  5. SMP

    SMP Guest

    I had a similar problem with the same NEC burner.

    Check what firmware you are currently using on the burner.

    If required update via the German NEC site - www.necd.de V 1.09 I think is the latest.

    It's a small file that can be run from within windows

    Good Luck

    SMP
     
  6. turner

    turner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does this firmware upgrade work with oem drives as i have read somewhere that they dont take newer firmware updates.
     
  7. alangrw

    alangrw Guest

    I got an invalid media message when i tried to burn using dvd x copy platinum. I was using what i thought was 4x media but it turns out they were 2x, that's why i got the message!
     
  8. SMP

    SMP Guest

    Hi,

    The firmware seems to be ok on an OEM model - mine is an oem and works ok.

    SMP
     
  9. turner

    turner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    in the readme for the firmware it says do not use on oem drives what are my chances of naffin the drive uo
     

Share This Page