1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is backing up DVD legal?

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by crazylazy, Dec 3, 2007.

1. crazylazy

crazylazy Member

This may be a very geeky qun, but i wanted to know if backing up of DVD movies (your own) with no commercial interest legal? basically i would like to upload them to my harddrive and access it across my house.

i have heard ppl copy stuff borrowed from netflix and blockbuster which may be illegal. but what about the self owned ones..

thanks

CL

2. Yankee11

Yankee11 Member

It is piracy and illegal to be downloading movies off the web. I'm not a lawyer or anything, but all I heard from someone I know is that using it for personal use could go both ways.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

3. varnull

varnull Guest

It depends a little where you live..

Under that stupid DMCA thing it is now illegal to attempt to bypass any copy protection or encryption designed to stop you changing a format or making a copy (in any way, on to any media) of the content.
    Apparently when you buy a film or whatever it never really belongs to you.. you have just paid for a license to watch it on "approved" equipment.

Now if it's illegal to break the encryption, or copy protection and it's also illegal to download it.. I know which one is free and they don't take my money and make me a criminal..... so guess what

stuff the MPAA mafia!!

(actually they need to make some films worth watching first, cos this years offerings have been poor)

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 4, 2007
  4. LOCOENG

LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member