1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is DRM or copy protected music a think of the past?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by keithbx, Feb 28, 2005.

1. keithbx

keithbx Member

I AM A NEWBIE BUT MY FRIEND HAS THIS PROGRAM THAT LETS HIM RECORD ANYTHING THAT IS PLAYED ON HIS COMPUTER. I THOUGHT IT WAS A JOKE BUT I INSTALLED THE PROGRAM ON MY COMPUTER WENT TO AOL MUSICNET AND DOWNLOADED A COUPLE OF SONGS. NOW THESE SONGS ARE COPY PROTECTED BUT I OPEN UP THE PROGRAM TO COPY PLAYED THE SONGS IN MUSICNET AND WHALLA! I HAD MADE A COPY OF THE DRM OR PROTECTED MUSIC. MY FRIEND SAID IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE SOUND CARD OR SOMETHING(I DON'T KNOW) BUT I DO KNOW THAT I CAN GET ANY SONG FOR FREE LEGALLY JUST BY LISTENING TO IT ON MY COMPUTER WITH THE PROGRAM RUNNING.
    I JUST WANTED TO KNOW IS THIS SOMETHING NEW OR HAVE YOU GUYS KNOWN ABOUBT THIS FLAW IN DRM?

THANKS

KEITH CEARS

2. diabolos

diabolos Guest

[bold]Please never ever type in all caps again please![/bold] Also, its not a flaw in the DRM. If something can be played it can be copied. The technology has be around since Windows 95 when windows recorder was in the accessories list of the start menu.

3. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

DRM stands for Digital Rights Management.
    Playing back through your soundcard and recording analog, the ol' fashioned way, sidesteps the protection.
    The quality, however, degrades a little bit with each copy...
    Just like it did in the 1980's :)
    L8R

4. keithbx

keithbx Member

Hey thanks for the comment.
    Do you know another way to get around DRM?

5. diabolos

diabolos Guest

No. Recording the analog signal isn't getting around DRM. DRM doesn't cover analog signals. It you want a way to do it with software then that would be illegal and not a Fair-Use practice. Don't post anything about illegal activities or conpiricy to do such activities please.

6. keithbx

keithbx Member