1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is installing backups on the HDD possible, without using the PC?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Budnick, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. Budnick

    Budnick Guest

    I'm using HDLoader. I remember reading a while back, when HDLoader first arrived, that you COULD using Swap Magic, and the trick had something to do with switching them at the screen where you name the game you want to install. I tried that, letting HDLoader read the Swap Magic DVD disc, then when it asked me to name it, when I tried to switch it for my backup, the disc was still spinning. I ejected and simply replaced the Swap Magic with the backup and HDLoader hung at the "Preparing to Install" screen (I forget what it says).

    So is it possible? My main concern is getting Imports on the HDD, since I don't have a flip top and just open my PS2 up and remove the DVD drive cover whenever I want to play an Import/Backup and need to swap. It's a pain in the ass.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Samusisme

    Samusisme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes it is possible, you just went too far. You don't even need a swap magic disc, a high toc ps2 game will suffice (I use Devil May Cry). From the main menu (games list,etc) eject and put in dvd game or swap magic dvd. Press 'install' and it will come to a screen asking you to put in the disk. The disk will stop spinning at this screen only. Use slide card and swap for backup, hit continue and voila! Name your game and wait for it to install.
     
  3. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you can just download import .ISOs onto your HD and then play them off there right?
     
  4. aestoney

    aestoney Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes you can, actually the pc way is faster and less errors when reading, plus no need for the toc disc
     
  5. Budnick

    Budnick Guest

    Alright, I get to the point where I swap discs and hit continue, then it spins the disc, checks it and says "Disc inserted is not a valid Plastation 2 disc!"

    What's this import.iso file, will it help HDLoader recognize Imports/Backups as valid discs?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2004
  6. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my question is: why don't you need a modded PS2 to play from a HD? do the ISO's have a different boot sector which can be read by a plain old unmodded PS2?
     
  7. notmyname

    notmyname Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This is how it works (roughly)
    All original PS1 discs will pass the disc verification phase, then check the memory card for Titleman info (SLUS_XXX, etc). The memory card exploit will then execute (PS1 discs can auto-execute the title.db file on the memory card, if its titleman is listed in the file). The title.db will launch boot.elf on the memory card (or whatever your favorite expolit chose to name this file) and force a buffer overflow, which allows custom code to take control of the PS2 system. At this point, the PS2 can be forced to run just about anything from the harddrive or memory card.

    I have not personally booted ISO's from the harddrive, just 1:1 copies. I have not heard of any advantage to using ISO's, and ISO's can be mounted to a virtual drive on your PC for making 1:1 copies anyway. If you are having probs, or just getting started, post your addy and I will lend a hand.
     

Share This Page