1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is installing modchip that difficult?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by doduhdew, May 23, 2007.

  1. doduhdew

    doduhdew Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi. i've been looking for a modchip installer for a long time. i don't feel comfortable sending my console to installer because i've tried to contact them and didn't like their response time (2-3 days).

    so i'm wondering if installing a modchip myself is a "mission impossible."

    i don't have any experience with soldering.

    let me know if any of you tried to install modchips yourself and tell me what happenned? ; )
     
  2. ps2wizz

    ps2wizz Regular member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its not as hard as you may thinnk. I insalled my first chip when i was 13. Just requires a lot of practice
     
  3. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Since you have no previous soldering experience I would highly recommend you find an old pc motherboard and practice on that until you get confident in your skills. Really try to practice soldering small points like the bios pins
     
  4. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    well, be the judge. Here is what you would be in for. I say with no soldering skills you either need a lot of practice, or you need to send your console to a reputable site and have it installed.
    [​IMG]
    that is a V14 with a Matrix Infinity
     
  5. doduhdew

    doduhdew Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i thought you were supposed to use thicker (30) wires for the power and the ground.
     
  6. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    yeah I think your supposed to use 22 gauge wire for power/ground points
     
  7. doduhdew

    doduhdew Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    glue gun & glue sticks $11.62
    soldering iron $8.65
    wire stripper $6.48
    + kynar wires + soldering materials

    i think i will save me a trouble and send my system to whoever.....i give up
     
  8. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    trust me, the picture above is someone who installs these chips every day. As you can tell by the ultra clean wiring job. So i am 100% sure he knows which gauge wire to use. He has done 2 systems for me and neither one has ever had a problem.
     
  9. doduhdew

    doduhdew Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have no questions about how wonderful the above job looks. i just heard somewhere about using different wires for ground and power. that's all. in fact, i am waiting for dav's phone call right now.
     
  10. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Did you PM him at the site? That is what i would do.
    also davbere at hotmail dot com is his email and MSN Messenger. You can try those. I have not known him to call customers, but he may. I always did things with him through PM'ing him at the site.
     
  11. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Here is another example of a pro's work. Some times its better to pay for the best service when doing this kind of thing.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page