1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to change region for pioneer a04 once its been locked

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by R.A.G.S, Jul 9, 2003.

1. R.A.G.S

R.A.G.S Regular member

Hi I am sorry guys if you have had this question before. Im not a completely newbie but I just neva faced this problem before. I have a Pioneer A04 and I have used the 5 tries you get to change your region settings on the the drive. My drive is now set fixed to region 1 but I desperatly want to change it to region2 as I can use to back my region2 dvds using xcopy. Can somebody please help. Many thanks, you may email me on secretagent69_uk@hotmail.com

2. Oriphus

Oriphus Senior member

Dont post your email address, 1000's come through these forums each day, and a lot my send you spam mail.

Go to here and you can update your firmware to RPC 1 (regio free): Its about 2/3 way down the page

http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org/

Chris

3. R.A.G.S

R.A.G.S Regular member

Thanks oriphus, the firmware you are recommending will that over write firmware version 1.32, which is currently running on my drive?

4. Oriphus

Oriphus Senior member

it will, yes

5. R.A.G.S

R.A.G.S Regular member

why is it that when I phoned up pioneer helpdesk they told me that once the region has been fixed on the drive there is noway of being able to change it. I even asked then about firmware change and they still insisted that it would not be able to change the region. Do you work for Pioneer?

6. Tosca

Tosca Guest

You expect Pioneer to tell you how to "hack" their stuff?

This is what it says on the page

THESE FIRMWARES ARE NOT ENDORSED BY PIONEER OR ANY OTHER MANUFACTURER

nuff said. THey don't want to hear your probs when you feck up your drive with a bad flash.

7. R.A.G.S

R.A.G.S Regular member

True....I read that after I read the pages...it was abit of stupid question I guess...