1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to copy items on my Tivo to a DVD?

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by darkturbo, Mar 5, 2005.

1. darkturbo

darkturbo Member

I always am forced to delete talk shows and Seasame Street episodes for my Daughters that I would love to save for them. I know at the web site Tivo communitee there is a guy that can upgrade the amount of hours you record on your unit (up to 360 hours) for about $300 I think but I do not want to go this route. Copying to DVDS would be much better. At least for me it would be. Any help regarding this would be greatly appreciated. :)

2. Furd

Furd Member

Since no one else has jumped in I'll give you a couple thoughts, but I'm no expert on this.

If you had a video capture card in your computer, you could play the TiVo back into your computer, record the shows into your computer, and perhaps burn that to a DVD. You'd need software to make VOB and IFO files out of whatever format you would capture the video in (probably .mpg or .avi). I've seen threads about doing that in this and other fora here.

Also, if you have a video capture card (a lot of higher end video cards can do this), you could install Windows Media Center and use your computer as a DVR. It would probably be easier to get a computer specifically configured that way, as most computers that run WMC also have remote controls for DVD playback, video capture, etc.

Neither of these options are cheap, especially the new computer option. Also, I've never tried to capture video on my computer, so all of this is just theory. Sorry if I've wasted your time.

ff

3. jim_dandy

jim_dandy Active member

I record off my dvr with a dvd recorder standalone,another not so cheap option.

4. darkturbo

darkturbo Member