1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to get clear video like the original DVD???

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by shawkee, Oct 29, 2002.

  1. shawkee

    shawkee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I rip and encode a movie they are clear but just a tad bit of fuzz in some shots especially far away shots ,up close shots look damn good. I was wondering if it is a way to get video that is clear like the original
     
  2. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It all depends what type of file you want to make. If it is divx, the higher the biterate, the better the quality. Problem is that divx only plays on the pc. If you want it to play on a dvd player, then you really have 2 choices: vcd and svcd. Svcd comes real close to the original dvd. Here again, the higher the biterate setting, the better. Most dvd players that can play svcd have a 2600kps max setting. The downfall is that the higher the kps the more space you need to fit the movie. A typical 90 minute movie in svcd will fit on 2 cd's at around 2200kbs.
     
  3. shawkee

    shawkee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx for the info d .. when I burn I use vcd...next time I will use svcd and see how clear that is ...if you have any more info or software that will allow me to get crystal clear copies let me know...right now I am using smart ripper to rip....dvdx to encode...and nero to burn
     
  4. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dbecker is right about the quality vs bitrate, but I think if you are really looking for crystal-clearness you'll be dissapointed with SVCD as well, especially with video with a lot of fast movement. There just isn't enough bits on an SVCD video stream sometimes. You may want to consider investing in a DVD burner. They're getting cheaper.

    Rgds,
    jnihil.
     
  5. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    now make sure your dvd player can play svcd's. Not a whole lot can play them. MY phillips dvd player plays them and I find them to be near dvd quality (as long as you keep the biterate over 2k). It does 'fuzz up' a little bit on extreme fast motion. I look at it this way: for the price of a dvd writer 300bucks + the dvd-r disks 3-5 bucks a pop, You would live with the little 'fuzz' doing svcd at 20 cents a disk. Also, you can't just make a disk copy of a dvd because a typical dvd movie is over 5gig and the max you can get on a dvd-r is 4.7gig.
     
  6. shawkee

    shawkee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanx again for that info ...you know your stuff dbecker...you to jnihil. answer me this...I ripped Pearl Harbor and that is a two disc set and the movie is 183 minutes so that needs to go on three 80 minute cdr's...disc one I ripped , encoded and burned with no problem...but when I ripped disc two ...I say maybe the last half hour or so of the movie I got the producers commentary...do you know it ripped the commentary instead of the movie ?
     
  7. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Odd. Have you tried stripping all the un-needed audio leaving only the main audio track using ifoedit?
     
  8. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You picked the wrong audio track. I don't know what program you use, but I use dvd2avi and it typically selects the 1st audio track out of usually 8 tracks (which is usually the english version of the movie). Maybe on the 2nd disk, the 1st track is the director yappin'. I know there is a simple way to find out the correct track, but I don't know it off hand. If I get a chance, I will try and let you know.
     
  9. shawkee

    shawkee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The program I use to rip is (SMART RIPPER) all I do is pop the movie in, open smart ripper and it automatically reads all of the files on the disc then I click start and the ripping process begins. Smart ripper onley read one track ... This is causing me to stay away from two part movies. Another thing I hate is that you can't skip through chapters on the copies, I was in the middle of a movie and then accidentaly hit the stop button on the remote so I had to fast forward up to the part where it had stopped and that took forever...The onley thing I can think of is to encode one chapter at a time but thats time consuming considering that an average movie has about 30 or so chapters. Anyway hit me back with some new ideas
     
  10. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's not smartripper that is your problem. Let it rip the movie track and it will bring in all the lanquage files down. What programs do you use after smartripper??? The program after smartripper, is the program that allows you to select what audio track to bring in.
     
  11. shawkee

    shawkee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The program I use after smart ripper is dvdx.. What changes should I make?
     
  12. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    on the input settings look at what audio track it is picking. If you click on the drop box, it will list your selection. It looks like the default track is not the one you want.
     
  13. dbecker

    dbecker Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You also can open the .txt file that smart ripper makes in the audio portion of the vob files. see below....
    Determining the correct audio track
    Ok, this is slightly tricky part. DVD2AVI doesn't tell us anything about the audio track's the VOBs have, nothing but the track number. So, we need to determine the audio track we want to use. Luckily, SmartRipper generates a small log file into the ripping directory that lists all the data streams found on VOBs.

    So, let's open this file, normally named as vts_01_INFO.txt with text editor, such as Notepad. Once opened, scroll down to a part that says "Stream Info".

    Now, we need to get the correct track number for the audio track we want to use. You see the list of streams that contains video streams, audio streams, subtitle streams and possibly "other" streams as well. Start counting from the top-most stream and skip all non-audio streams in your count. In this example, the Track 01 is the one that says Stream[002] in its line, Track 02 is the one that says Stream[003] and Track 03 is the one with Stream[004].

    As we want to have the audio track that is in AC3 format and has 5.1 channels and is spoken in English, we look first for English tracks. Soon we notice that English tracks are Track 02 and Track 03. Both are in AC3 format, but only the first one of them has 6 channels (5.1) in it. So, the track we select, is Track 02 in this particular case. Now, try to remember this -- or if your mind is too wobbly that you can't remember one number, write it down :)



     

Share This Page