1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is it safe to go on 360 today due to maintenance?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by asb1, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. asb1

    asb1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    as above really ( have firmware thats why im worried wanted to have a game of brian lara lol ) ???
     
  2. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    just unplug your ethernet cable and play 'off-LIVE' and you are fine. it cant update if its not connected to the net....
     
  3. asb1

    asb1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cheers mate
     
  4. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    no problem. im in the same boat as you with the FW mod, so we will just have to wait until someone feels like being the guinea pig to test the update out.
     
  5. E_Pizza

    E_Pizza Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    People dont seem to be getting that there is NO update. So how it could ban or screw up anything or anyone with modded firmware is beyond me. Its maintenence NOT an update.

    Although this post would be applicable if it were a dashboad update.

     
  6. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    then was is LIVE down for? maintance? even if that is it, then they must be updating something on their end, so therefore it would be an 'update.' no-one ever claimed that it was a dashboard update, just an update in general.
     
  7. reprazent

    reprazent Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey, all servers need downtime/maintenance once in awhile and xboxlive is not an exception. it's just that people with firmware flashed are extra paranoid. (some more than others ;)

     
  8. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    How can you say that adding servers to live is "updating" your console? It's updating the LIVE service.
     
  9. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have 2 360's here at home that's modded, and have done countless other firmware flashes for people here and locally. I'm one of the exceptions to the paranoid rule. It seems to me that the more you know of a topic, the less paranoid you are about that subject.

    End of ramble now -
     
  10. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes i agree with menace, its not a console update, they are simply working to better the live service. even if you wanted to get on live today, you couldnt, its down for the whole day, thats why it was announced so people would know that today you couldnt play online
     
  11. flowfast

    flowfast Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wrong, its said 14 hrs.
     
  12. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    oh wow i was off by 10 hours, that did no good to correct me but thanks for being on your toes
     
  13. flowfast

    flowfast Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    10 hrs is alot GRAW time. lol
     
  14. reprazent

    reprazent Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that is, if the game doesn't crash your machine all the time ;p
     
  15. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i appologize to everyone who thought i ment that it was an update for your console. i simply ment that it was an update in general, whether it be for the system, for microsoft, or for the LIVE servers.
     
  16. brifa

    brifa Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its all good guys
     
  17. asb1

    asb1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    have you tried it yeh ?

    what was the maintaintance for does any one know ?
     
  18. andro1d

    andro1d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried going on all day and it didn't work. Then I tried like I dunno, 10 pm last night or something and played COD2 just fine. Didn't ask me to download anything so I dunno what was up. But yah it's ok so no worries.
     

Share This Page