1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Network Update disabled in custom fw's??

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by dEEz_nUtz, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    would sure hate to let one of the kids play the PSP and find out it has spankin' new 3.50 firmware on it...."we thought you would want the new software so it would make your PSP better Dad"
     
  2. reloadSE

    reloadSE Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im pretty sure it is as you cannot update to sony fws from ms on custom fw
     
  3. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You can download updates, but cannot start it. Error code DADADADA.
     
  4. Pud1000

    Pud1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Really DADADADA?
     
  5. chanman1

    chanman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  6. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Uh, think so...
     
  7. glenquag

    glenquag Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What you can do is make the network update just reboot your psp. That's what I did. Download and use this on your PSP to change it:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/38981603/rbprx_v0.2_with_installer.rar.html
    Put the "rbprxinst" folder on your memory stick like this: PSP/GAME/rbprxinst. Then run it on your PSP and a menu will come up asking you what you want to change. Good Luck.
     
  8. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks guys- It seemed to me from searching around on this topic that was probably the case-that you could access the updater, but not go any further-I was just wondering if anyone had "accidently" updated their FW..
    I will try that patch out, and see how it works...

    If that has your PSP reboot, can you have it so you can access the recovery console if need be? Like click the button so it shuts down, then hold R while its powering back up to get into recovery?
     
  9. chanman1

    chanman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  10. FW330

    FW330 Guest

    good that way no one will make da mistake to upgrade
     
  11. staxx

    staxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can make it do a few things instead of updating....such as the reboot which was already mentioned, load a homebrew game, access recovery menu. They are all .prx files. I wouldnt recomend you puting on the recovery tho if your kids are using it.

    To answer your question about the reboot/shutdown. The one that reboots your psp is also able to shut it down by holding the L trigger and press x i believe.

    Also your going to need to switch your kernel to 1.50 and throw a copy of your top menu in the rbprxinst folder.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  12. glenquag

    glenquag Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No you don't have to put your topmenu in the folder. And dEEz_nUtz if you hold the L trigger while pressing the button it will turn it off instead of rebooting. I use it all the time
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007

Share This Page