1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a Passcard 3 substitute?

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by HG27, Apr 5, 2007.

1. HG27

HG27 Guest

I'm new to this backing up of NDS games, but I have heard that you will need a Passcard 3 or some other device to load NDS games.
    Why is this needed? can you just use a real game in slot one instead or something else? If you "flash" your NDS will this not be needed, because I hear about people and how they flash their NDS

2. mr_hanky

mr_hanky Regular member

If using a a slot-2 (GBA slot) device you need a way of forcing the DS to run DS code from the GBA port, the Passcard3 forces the DS to do this, hence why it is needed.

However, you can install a firmware replacement known a FlashMe on the DS whic voids the need of using a Passcard as it will automatically load the slot-2 device in DS mode on boot of the system, Catch is yo need to use a Passcard at least once to be able to install FlashMe.

If using the newer slot-1 devices no Passcard is needed as the DS runs DS code from slot-1 by default, most slot-1 devices also have the added benefit of themselves being used as a passcard for slot-2 devices should you own both.

EDIT:
    Excuse any missing letters from my posts, my keyboard is running out of battery ¬_¬ just been through ths post to add several missing letters...

Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  3. HG27

HG27 Guest

wow, thanks man. So if I used an M3 in slot 2 I will need a passcard to play ds games off of gba port and if I used something like ds simply in slot 1 the passcard is not needed or built in?

4. mr_hanky

mr_hanky Regular member

Correct, the M3 DS Simply replaces the need to use a Passcrd with a slor-2 device, whe you turn on the Ds with both inserted it will load the M3 DS Simply, there is then an option in the main menu labled "Boot Slot-2" you choose this and it will load the GBA port device in DS mode.

5. HG27