1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a way to tell if you have a SATA cable?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by IcyChill, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have a dell dimension 2400. its old but is there a way to tell if it has a SATA cable?
     
  2. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you have to open the case. there should be connectors, not ide cables, but they look like 2 seperate small plugs.. it is likely you do not have them, since you have a dell.. i dont recall ever seeing them in there.. but if it is a newer model you may..
     
  3. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so am i better off buying the Xecuter X360 USB
    with Connectivity Kit v2

    Or a sata cable for my pc.

    thanks.
     
  4. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the xecuter will work but to use a sata cable you will need to buy a sata card.. which will hook into you pci slot.. you cannot simply buy a sata cable and use it.. you have no plugs on your motherboard to use sats cables..
     
  5. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok so am i better off buying a SATA card and cables or the xecuter thing

    thanks.
     
  6. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes and if you get the sata card be sure to get the chipsets that are compatible.. i believe it would be 6421, or 8432.. or something like that..
     
  7. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so your saying a sata card would be better if so i have no idea what im looking for so can you maybe give me a link to a cheap one with chipsets or whatever

    thanks.
     
  8. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    to be honest if you can afford i think the way to go is to buy the xecuter.. that is the one that you only take the xbox apart once and then you can flash without openeing it.. if you go the other route.. everytime you want to reflash you have to take the box apart.. so it is up to you.. i myself just tale the box apart to flash, but if you dont want to mess with it all the time i suggest getting the xecuter kit..
     
  9. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i probly going to get the xecuter but i have a two questions

    what do you mean you only have to open it once?

    are there any benefits of having a SATA card than the xecuter?
     
  10. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    with the executer kit you hook everything up the first time you open the box.. once it is all hooked up you dont have to open the box again because you just flash through a usb port on your pc..

    the sata card you must take the dvd drive out everytime and then reflash it. then put the drive back in. if you are not comfortable with that then get the xecuter
     
  11. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok so im just making this clear. If i buy the xecuter thing, it will be the ONLY thing i need to flash my 360 besides the unlock kit to open the 360?

    thanks for all the help :)
     
  12. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes.. and you honestly do not need to buy an unlock kit.. if you are a little handy with tools.. you can get it open with a tiny screw driver and then of course the star screw driver
     
  13. IcyChill

    IcyChill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok thanks alot man your the BEST!!!!!\

    o and do you reccomend the best place to buy the xecuter thing?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2007
  14. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page