1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is there any harm in leaving

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Raider911, Mar 29, 2005.

  1. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    your computer on 24 hrs a day?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,070
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do you have battery backup & a damn good firewall than no
     
  3. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I think most computers can be left on 24/7. However you may want to have the monitor auto shut down after a period of time. A screen saver helps but if you are away from the PC for several hrs its better to have the monitor blank out to save the CRT or LCD. Also if connected to the internet by other than dialup (broadband, DSL) make sure you have excellent protection in place. Just my Opinion.

    Jerry
    Like ddp says--battery backup is a good idea too.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  4. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im thinking of doing this cause when i shut down it takes a bunch of reboots cause of bad startups to get it going again.

    wouldnt rebooting 5-10 times at the beginning of each day be more harmful than not turning off at all?

    i am thinking of turning off my monitor and disconnecting from the internet at the end of each day now but leaving the system on.
     
  5. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    its also a lot easier on the Hard Drives to keep them constantly spinning then to have then spin down and spin up everytime you turn on/off your computer. less wear and tear on your components. be sure to clean out your computer every few months, because much more dust will accumulate inside by having the fans and everything running constantly.
     
  6. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will the processor slow down any if its never turned off? would a quick restart always fix that if that happened?
     
  7. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    All good ideas and needed items such as a battery backup whether you keep it on 24/7 or not. But I also would suggest looking into your boot-up problem before anything else goes wrong. It might be a failing HDD as it is, and if you loose your data, I am sure you will not be a happy camper. So try to set up your system with a battery backup and also do a good defrag of your HDD and check for any errors on it as well.
     
  8. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    First-No, no unless you have a severe heat issue.

    Second-It never hurts to reset once in a while. I call it the Bill Gates Shuffle! :)
     
  9. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i took it to the service tech guy today. he put a better video card in it and said it was working better at his place but im still getting the bad startups here. i asked about the processor and power supply but he said he checked those.
     
  10. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    can you be a little more specific as to the "bad startups" you're getting. it could be many different things.

    damn typo
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  11. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    on the first startup today, i got a beep but the monnitor light stayed yellow and the screen stayed black.

    on the 2nd and third startups i got the beep,i got a green light and the windows XP icon but after that both times i got a black and green screen with a bunch of symbols all over it (ex: !@#$%^&*)

    on the 4th startup i got a clean boot.
     
  12. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It could be a bad PSU, video card, driver conflict, etc. What wattage is your PSU, how old is it, brand name or cheapy, etc.?
     
  13. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can i find that in everest home edition?
     
  14. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Field Value
    Computer
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
    Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 (IE 6.0 SP2)
    DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
    Computer Name DOWNHOME-8IJI18 (???)
    User Name Fred

    Motherboard
    CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1350 MHz (13.5 x 100) 1500+
    Motherboard Name AOpen AK77 Pro(A)-133 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 CNR, 3 DIMM, Audio)
    Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8366A Apollo KT266A
    System Memory 256 MB (PC2100 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type Award (09/10/02)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
    Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

    Display
    Video Adapter RADEON 9250 - Secondary (128 MB)
    Video Adapter RADEON 9250 (128 MB)
    3D Accelerator ATI Radeon 9200 Pro (RV280)
    Monitor Daewoo 710B [17" CRT] (GC91H50484)

    Multimedia
    Audio Adapter VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller

    Storage
    IDE Controller VIA Bus Master IDE Controller
    Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
    Disk Drive WDC WD800JB-00CRA1 (74 GB, IDE)
    Optical Drive LG CD-ROM CRD-8322B (32x CD-ROM)
    Optical Drive SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-252F (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
    SMART Hard Disks Status OK

    Partitions
    C: (NTFS) 48516 MB (19701 MB free)
    E: (FAT32) 18456 MB (11270 MB free)
    F: (FAT32) 9325 MB (8704 MB free)
    Total Size 74.5 GB (38.7 GB free)

    Input
    Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft PS/2 Port Mouse (IntelliPoint)
    Game Controller Microsoft PC-joystick driver

    Network
    Network Adapter WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface (142.177.86.18)
    Modem AOpen FM56-PX Controllerless PCI Modem

    Peripherals
    Printer Canon S330
    Printer Fax
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB Device Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,070
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    power supply you will have to look into your computer case to get the info of the psu case
     
  16. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    MODEL NO: FSP300-60ATV
    AC INPUT: 115/230V-,9/4A,60/50Hz
    DC OUTPUT: 330W
    +3.3V~~28.0A(ORG),+5~~30.0A(RED),+12V~~15.0A(YEL)
    +5Vsb~~2.0A(PURP),-5V~~0.3A(WHITE),-12V~~0.8A(BLUE)
    P.G. SIGNAL (GRAY), GROUND(BLACK)
    FUSE RATING:6.3A,250V-(+3.3V& +5V=200W Max)
     
  17. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,735
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Your power supply looks to have enough horsepower, but a 400+ watt power supply may be better.

    Also, check for and update for your BIOS. Yours is listed at Sept. 2002. It never hurts to look and update, if available.

     
  18. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Where do you update the bios at?
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,070
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    motherboard manufacturer. here is link http://download.aopen.com.tw/Default.aspx & here is what to get
    AK77 Pro(A)-133
    BIOS N/A R1.12 3/31/2003
    237 KB
    Checksum 2F6AH
    Uses new method to show the CPU name string.

    OS Support:DOS



    R1.10 3/31/2003
    237 KB
    Checksum 8C20h
    Support AMD Athlon(tm) 2400+ ,2600+ (FSB 266) CPU.
    Fill the correct Audio codec SVID,SSID.

    OS Support:DOS




     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  20. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Power Supplies ATX-250GT(PF) English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-250GT English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-250GTF English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-250GU English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-300GT(PF) English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-300GT English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-300GTF English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-300GTF English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies ATX-350GU English 3/28/2005
    Report Power Supplies FSP145-60SA English /28/2005

    Thats what i see there. nothing on ak77
     

Share This Page