1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this a copyright protection issue ?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by bomber07, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys.

    Today I copied 2 dual layer DVD's in a row with no problems, the 3rd one I tried seemed to burn fine, but when I put it in my DVD players all it does is make grinding and whirring sounds and doesn't read, I tried to burn it again and the same thing happened.
    I'm thinking as I had just burned successfully 2 DL DVD's it might have something to do with copyright protection as the DVD only came out 2 months ago.

    I burned all 3 DL DVD's by saving them to to my hard drive using "DVD Fab Decrypter 3".
    I then used Nero 6 (something), opened the files on my hard drive in Nero Express with the DVD-Video files selection, loaded them in and burned (with Verbatim DVD+R DL).

    It worked for the first 2 DVD's. The 3rd I tried (twice) doesn't read, like I said, it just grinds around in my players.

    I don't know much at all about this stuff, especially copyright protection and how to get past it, so below are some details I found on the 3 DVD's I had success and failure with, the first 2 are the ones I had success with, the 3rd one is the one that I tried to burn twice which just grinds in my player.

    Does anything there tell anyone what changes I can make to successfully burn it, is there any more info I can tell you that will be any help ?

    Thanks !

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    BURNED SUCCESSFULLY (COMMERCIAL DVD)
    General -
    Type : DVD Video
    Capacity : 5:60GB

    Extended Information –
    Layers : 2
    Version : 1
    Track Path : Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Disc Size : 12cm
    Copy Protection : CSS/CPPM

    Content –
    File System(s) : ISO9660, UDF
    Title : EC_100964_AUS
    Date : 21st March 2001
    Publisher : n/a
    Application : n/a
    Video Format : PAL 16:9 (Mpeg 2, 720x576)
    Region(s) : 4
    Play Time : 98minutes (1:38:45)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    BURNED SUCCESSFULLY (this is a DVD+R DL)
    General -
    Type : DVD Video
    Capacity : 7:87GB

    Extended Information –
    Layers : 2
    Version : 1
    Track Path : Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Disc Size : 12cm
    Copy Protection : n./a

    Content –
    File System(s) : ISO9660, UDF
    Title : DVD_VIDEO
    Date : 15th February 2006
    Publisher : n/a
    Application : TOAST ISO 9660 BUILDER COPYRIGHT
    Video Format : NTSC 4:3 (Mpeg 2, 720x480)
    Region(s) : All
    Play Time : 66minutes (1:06:52)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    THIS DVD HAS FAILED TO BURN TWICE (COMMERCIAL DVD).
    General -
    Type : DVD Video
    Capacity : 7.32GB

    Extended Information –
    Layers : 2
    Version : 1
    Track Path : Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Disc Size : 12cm
    Copy Protection : CSS/CPPM

    Content –
    File System(s) : ISO9660, UDF
    Title : The Cure
    Date : 23rd Ocotber 2006
    Publisher : Universal
    Application : N/A
    Video Format : NTSC 4:3 (Mpeg 2, 720x480)
    Region(s) : All
    Play Time : 155minutes (2:35:32)
     
  2. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you restart your computer between burns?
    See if that will help.
     
  3. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah I did restart my computer between burns but it was by coincidence, not because I thought it would help.... hehe
    So how does restarting the computer help sometimes ?, I have never heard about that before, anyhow as my burn didn't work it seems restarting the computer didn't help in this case.

    As the first 2 DVD's I copied worked and the 3rd failed twice I'm thinking it might have something to do with the fact that it was only released 2 months ago and might have a copyright protection on it that "DVD Decrypter 3" doesn't help work around ? ? ?
     
  4. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Download a free trial of ANY DVD from Slysoft & let it run on toolbar
    when you use fab--see if that helps.
    ANY DVD will tell you what the protection is.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
  5. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    It would have been September 2006 when AnyDVD helped me copy a copyright protected DVD DL that was released that month (September 2006), but the trial only lasts 21 days, I have since downloaded the updated version of AnyDVD but that trial has expired a week or 2 ago, so it seems I can't try the lastest AnyDVD until a new version is released.
    Is there another program I can use ?
     
  6. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DVD Region + CSS Free from DVDIdle.com
     
  7. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am told not to run anydvd and dvdfab decryptor at the same time, so you should turn off any dvd when your using dvd fab. also, do you have the latest version of dvd fab? obviously thats not teh reason in this case, because you have already ripped it successfully, but just stay up to date on dvd fab, and you shouldnt need anydvd anyway.
     
  8. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah I have heard also not to run DVD Decrypter and AnyDVD at the same time, so I haven't !

    Well I'm not sure if the version I have is the latest DVD Decrypter, it's "DVD DEcrypter 3" that I'm using, is that the latest ? Does that mean the copyright isn't my problem ?
    I just don't understamd why the last 2 DVD's worked and now this 3rd DVD has failed twice, I haven't changed my burning method at all ....

    I'm going to try the DVD Region + CSS Free program geburuh suggested, I'll post my results.

    Any further suggestions are appreciated !
     
  9. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually the correct name of the version I'm using is "DVDFab Decrypter 3".
     
  10. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alo try for ripping: DVDDecrypter ( free on the web )
    w/ DVD Region+CSS Free running.
    Burn as usual
     
  11. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    bomber, try checking to see which version you have, up in the upper right corner click on one of those tabs (i dont have it in front of me) and see which one you have? the latest verision is 3.0.5.2 beta, if you have that or 3.0.5.0 your fine, if you have and older one, update it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
  12. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's "DVDFab Decrypter 3055" that I'm using.


     
  13. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK the first commercial DVD that copied properly was in PAL format (I live in Australia and that is the standard format), the second DVD I copied also worked and was NTSC but it was a DVD+R DL I copied.
    The DVD that has failed twice to burn is a COMMERCIAL-NTSC DVD, could this have something to do with the problem ?, we use PAL in Australia.

     
  14. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I actually have a bigger problem.

    I have a post here from 3 days ago where I posted to ask why my burner has wasted the last 15 dual layer discs I have tried to burn.

    Yesterday I changed some things around like setting all my Nero folders to Drive D instead of drive C, as I have a lot more space on D.

    It seemed to work as after that I burned 2 DVD's in a row successfully.

    As you know from this thread I have failed burning a 3rd DVD, I thought it must have been a copyright protection issue as my last 2 burns with different DVD's were successful.

    I just tried to copy again one of the DVD's I successfully copied yesterday and it failed, I got the same result as I did for a lot of the past 15 failed burns, everything seems to copy fine, it gets through the burn process and finishes, but when I try to play it in my DVD players it just grinds around and won't read...

    Any ideas as to what this could be.
    My burner is burning loads of single layer DVD's and CD's without a single problem....
     
  15. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Some copies don't like to be copied.
    Burn extras when you have the original-$$
     
  16. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,
    I tried to copy the original DVD I successfully copied earlier, but it failed...
     
  17. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Dang 15 wasted disc? Seems to me you need to go to the store and get some Dual-Layer re-writables till you have fixed your problem.

    Have you recently added any new hardware or a program to your computer when you started having this trouble? Did you change the media you where using when this started happening?

    All of this could come in account of why you are having trouble. You could have also been infected with AddWare/Mallware so it might be good to scan for that as well.

    If you still have trouble then maybe find a Friend that is Tech savvy and ask them to help or ask them to do a fresh install (Formatting and installing a fresh copy of your OS)

    Seems to me you have installed and uninstalled allot of different programs while trouble shooting this problem and you have changed options in Nero and moved the folders etc. This all could be apart of your problem as well.

    But I would suggest first getting some Dual-Layer re-writables and use them till you find and fix the problem.
     
  18. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey larrylje,

    I had never heard of addware/mallware before so I looked it up and this sounds VERY farmiliar !
    But I don't know what to do, I don't have much computer knowledge.
    I have experienced the following :

    -------------------------------
    Some Symptoms of Spyware, Adware, Malware InfectionTOP
    The symptoms of a malware infection vary.

    Your web browsing speed may be slow. Your computer, in general, may be slower that it was and may take much longer to start up than it used to - I DEFINATELY HAVE THIS PROBLEM.

    You may end up at unknown web sites when you try to do a search - I DEFINATELY HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM.

    Actual Spyware (as opposed to other malware) has to phone home to report what it found. If your firewall provides outbound protection you may see the 'phone call' and be able to stop it - I'M ON BROADBAND BUT WHEN I HAVE BEEN USING BROADBAND SOMETIMES THE CONNECTION WILL DROP PUT AND SOMETHING WILL APPEAR TO BE DIALING BUT I'VE ALWAYS IGNORED IS AS I'M NOT ON DIAL UP.


     
  19. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  20. bomber07

    bomber07 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for pointing me towards that.
    I ran a scan which gave these results :
    *WhenU (1 object) TAC 3
    *SpySpotter (5 objects) TAC 3
    *Tracking Cookie (31 objects) TAC 3
    *CometSystems (5 objects) TAC 8

    I removed them all and restarted my computer.

    I don't have much knowledge about this stuff, is that all I do ?
    Should be able to successfuly burn DVD+R DL copies now if addware/mallware was the problem ?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page