1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is this all the hardware required to network 2pc's? SOS please help!!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by vaj3000, Mar 29, 2005.

  1. vaj3000

    vaj3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i want to network 2 pc's so they use the same cable broadband connection. I bought the following items on recomendation from the PC world salesman but am not sure if this is all the items required or the right items for the job...
    I have 1 router(wirless)Below is a link to the exact router

    http://www.ovislinkcorp.co.uk/wl5424ar.htm

    and 2 msi wirless USB adaptors!
    http://www.pcquestusa.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=195

    If someone could help me out i would be greatfull! thanx guys
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    basically yes as long as it has the network cable to hook up from the cable/dsl modem to the router
     
  3. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just a note, sometimes the USB network adapters don't have that great of signal strength and have had occasion to snap off if left in the front of your PC 24/7. So if your rooms are close to each other and you have a rear USP port, then cool!

    Just in case you run into any problems, and if you only want to share the Broadband and not do an actual network, you can make your wireless router into a wireless switch and A/P or access point by doing a couple of changes in it’s software. Some folks have a problem when they first hook up a setup with dual firewalls, such as one in the Broadband modem and then again in the wireless router. The way to see if yours doesn’t have this problem is to go onto Microsoft Window’s Update page and have a completely successful event there including a download and install.
     
  4. vaj3000

    vaj3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    U know the msi network adaptor how far could a signal potentially go because the PC i want to network is up in the attic and the other pc state that the signal is weak. I dunno if i have set it up right or if the router can get a signal to the other PC. Also could there be any compatibility issues between the network adaptors and the router. Also a friend has suggested that i may need network cards?
     
  5. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You don't need a network card if you use the USB adapter sticks, but I would suggest that the main PC be hardwired to the router through a network card and just use one USB stick up in the attic or if signal strength is an issue, change the USB adapter sticks for a USB wired adapter with an external antenna. They are usually the same price or cheaper.

    The routers signal should be fine, it’s the USB's signal that I am referring to. Only way to tell is when you have them hooked up properly. Again the simplest way is to make the router just an A/P so no need to setup an address for each PC in the router.
     

Share This Page