1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is using dark alex the best way to mod a psp?

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by merk10, Jan 4, 2008.

1. merk10

merk10 Guest

i am a noob and i have several questions regarding psp modding...
    is dark alex the way to go?
    and what does dark alex do?
    i am only looking to play downloaded games,, and i dont want to mess with the battery. what is the best way for me to go.

2. PsPn1

PsPn1 Member

yo
    uhm what firmware is your psp?

3. merk10

merk10 Guest

its a 3.71 and it is custom
    wat is m33 mean also?

4. Atlantica

Atlantica Member

Dark Alex is not the what you use for playing downloaded games. Dark Alex is the programmer (he is a person) who first managed to hack the psp so all of us can use the psp to our liking.

anyways. Yes his firmware ( the hacked software he created) is the way to go. it is the origanal and so for the most popular and you will find the most support for it anywhere.

3.71 is the official sony firmware (software) 3.71 M33 is Dark Alex's hacked version. if you have 3.71 M33 in your system information you have a psp with custom firmware

5. merk10

merk10 Guest

how do i get from a 3.71 to a 3.71m33? is there anywhere i can go to get more information?
    thanx.

6. Atlantica

Atlantica Member

The only way to get custom firmware from 3.71 without tampering with a battery is by having another psp that has 3.71 M33. if you dont have another psp that has custom firmware the only way to get M33 is to get a "pandora's battery" . i know you said you didnt want to do this but its the only way.

however, you can actually buy pre modded batteries on ebay that are alreayd hacked so you dont have to do anything but insert in into your psp.

7. drakex

drakex Regular member

8. Atlantica

Atlantica Member