1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ISP Problem

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by MSAA9993, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. MSAA9993

    MSAA9993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think there is a problem. EG. When I done a speed test at the bottom it said Error: Unable to resolve ISP or ISP is required or something like that.

    I think this is why my torrent downloads are going slow aswell. Because when im connected to 30 seeds i only get 0.1kb/s speed.

    Can someone help me get it working back to normal again?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  2. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You need to be more informative. Nothing is more annoying than people who says "My computer said some dumb thing or other which I can't be bothered to remember, but I want you to take time to tell me how to fix it".

     
  3. MSAA9993

    MSAA9993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well i aint a computer freak. It just says Error: ISP is required when I do speed tests for example. Since last week my torrents are going really slow.
     
  4. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well you ain't a computer freak, and I ain't a mind reader, so we got us a problem, boy. You could write it down on a piece of paper, then you know what to put on here.

    It says "Error: ISP required?" Those exact words?

    Where do you see it on the screen?

    Is it When you visit a speed test web site?

    Which one? Please give the address of the web site.

    If I could have the answers to these questions I might be able to help you.

    It sure sounds like a message from the web site saying that you need to fill in your ISP name on a form before you get the speed test.



     
  5. MSAA9993

    MSAA9993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [​IMG]

    There, and my torrent downloads go really slow now.
     
  6. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I was right. That "error" from DSLReports is just that you did not fill in your ISP name. That speed 3927 Kb/s is damn near 4 megabits. If that is your service speed, it looks pretty good. Nothing wrong with your connection.

    The reason why your torrent speed is slow could be many things. Your inernet service provider could be throttling it. You could be trying to download files with not many seeds. It could be a number of things. If you are using another peer to peer program at the same time like Limewire that will slow both programs down.


     
  7. MSAA9993

    MSAA9993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's been like this for about a week now. I'm connected to like 45 seeds and 30 peers and download speed of 0.5kb/s.

    My ISP is TalkTalk and I looked on the wiki and it says they do Cap Torrent speeds but i've been with TalkTalk for months and get speeds around 100-200. But now it's only 0-1.

    I just want to get it back to the right speed but don't know how.

    EDIT: I entered my ISP (didnt see that box) and it looks good but still rubbish torrent speeds.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  8. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Seems like a common story. It can take them a while to get around to you... If you are in a Virgin Media cable area, (former Telewest or NTL) consider moving over ;-)

    see here

    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=484326

    and here

    http://forums.degreez.net/viewtopic.php?start=150&t=1531

    and here

    http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t21343.html

    in fact just look here... !!!

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?source=ig&hl=en&q=talktalk+throttling+torrents&meta=

    This seems like good advice... this link may be of interest... http://www.portforward.com/default.htm

    In fact check out port forwarding in general...

    I use Azureus, and in the "advanced" menu option you can choose to add the Onion (Tor) network and the I2P network which are anonymous. Doing this always seems to boost up my speeds even though they are pretty good anyway. I am on 4 Mbit cable and I can get 1 to 1.5 Mbit and more on a well seeded torrent.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  9. MSAA9993

    MSAA9993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So is it just my ISP then? Btw im on a BT Landline.

    If it is, can you reccommend a ISP that dont throttle torrent speeds. Im in the Uk.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  10. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Maybe Virgin? Plusnet are in this list I'm linking to as not throttling torrent traffic. TalkTalk are shown as throttlers. Some of the links might be handy. I am beginning to understand what Virgin Media mean when they talk about "unlimited broadband"... they do DSL in non cable areas. Cable is the way to go IMHO if you can get it.

    http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Bad_ISPs

     

Share This Page