1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ISP Turned of my connection

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by troutusa, Jan 8, 2005.

1. troutusa

troutusa Member

I use Azureus, and E-donkey P2P. I've been sharing files for several months with no problems. Recently, my internet connection was lost. When I called tech support I was told my ISP received a letter accusing me of donwloading copyrighted material????? I was told that if they received any future such letters they would refuse me service for good. (I live in a rural place where my ISP is the only broadband connection available.)
    The ISP agent would tell me nothing more than that my IP had been named in a letter from an unknown source. I am to receive a copy of this letter via the USPS.
    How does anyone know what files I am sharing? Are my file sharing days over; or, are there ways to continue by protectecting myself from spying on my sharing activities?
    Is it likely that I tried to run a bit-torrent that required a password or membership, and so the originator filed the complaint? Or, was I just randomly caught sharing files with no idea of what files I was sharing?
    I'm not trying to break the law. I want to understand what it was I did wrong, and if I will be able to file share again without losing my broadband connection. Any knowledgable info would be greatly appreciated.

2. mattF099

mattF099 Member