1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issues with Magic Swapdisk.

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by basilxiii, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. basilxiii

    basilxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I only recently purchased Magic Swapdisk 3.8, and i still haven't gotten it to work correctly.

    Anyway, i was beginning to wonder whether it's my installation of the 'pieces' into my v14 Slim PS2, which i'm assuming i've done correctly, or whether i copied the disks incorrectly, I followed a picture guide from this site, so i assume i did that correctly. And then theres the disk type, I'm using verbatim 8x DVD-Rs as someone suggested(burned at 4x; tried with different games, and with Alcohol 120%, Nero, and DVDecryptor), but okay, here's what happens when i run it:

    Disk loads up(the swapdisk), i put my disk in, select NTSC(Yes, its an NTSC disk), but then it black screens, goes to the PS2 'select hardware' screen, you know, where you'd usually pick a memory card or a disk. and says No Data, followed by 'insert a PS2 or PS1 disk, blah blah'

    wondering if you guys could tell me which part of the process i'm most likely doing wrong ;3

    Thanks
     
  2. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you dont have to select ntsc . just leave it at normal

    2nd how did you mod your ps2 with the magic keys ?

    easy way to do this is open up your ps2 tape the back sensor down put the cover back on.then put tissue paper in the front sensor with a piece of tape over that aswell
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
  3. basilxiii

    basilxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, well i'll try with default though i doubt it makes a difference, as default is NTSC :/

    And i don't need to open it up like that, but i think i will just to ensure it's done right.

    Came with pieces that don't need to be inserted into the PS2s guts, all done from the disk. Yes, theres 3 pieces, the piece that would usually require opening the ps2 is a slim metal coil type thing. slips right in, of course i've no way of knowing if its done right...or what. so i may just open 'er up and tinker with it myself. thanks.
     
  4. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its worth a shot
     
  5. basilxiii

    basilxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    But i'd atleast like a confirmation that that display does occur if the 'disk check switches' aren't depressed correctly. :/ and not that i burn wrong, etc ;3 as i'd rather not butcher my ps2 unless necessary
     
  6. basilxiii

    basilxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh and, my disk does spin before the disk lid is completely put down, but not when it's all the way up. if that helps.
     
  7. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    because the back or front sensor is not down
     
  8. basilxiii

    basilxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    :) Did as you said, the Tape and tissue method. Works now :D thanks a million.
     
  9. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    a cheap modification :)
     

Share This Page