1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

issues with Sony DRU 710A dual layer dvd burner

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by leannej5, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. leannej5

    leannej5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    i noticed several months ago my dvd burner wasnt burning any cd's and i attempted a dvd burn recently and that didnt work either!! No matter what burning software i use it seems to proceed to burn, does its thing all the way up until 100%, ejects the disc then says there was an error and could not complete! And Im using Sony CD-R's so I dont see how It can be a disc problem, but anyhow i will attach this error report i saved yesterday:


    Anyway I hope thhat somebody here is good at analysing that information because I wouldnt know how to read that, please help me. :(

    thanx cant wait 4a response!!! (esp because i just installed an awesome sound system in my car and need some new cds to play)!! :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
  2. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi leannej5
    1st thing edit out the email addy in the post - spam bots love this (against forum rules too).

    The only thing that pops put in the log is this:
    CdRomPeripheral : SONY DVD RW DRU-710A atapi Port 1 ID 1 DMA: Off
    Turn DMA back on for the drive. Here's a guide
     
  3. leannej5

    leannej5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx just read ur msg, ill have a look at that link youve posted but prior to reading it i must warn you that i have no idea what you are talking about so lets hope this article is for novices!!!

    x
     
  4. leannej5

    leannej5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    thanks for all your help. I went to the link and follwed all instructions to changing to DMA. All was looking good except for device 1 in the secondary channel was set to POI, and then after uninstalling and rebooding it said Not applicable. But now it HAS changed to DMA which is good. So I put in a new cd and tried to burn again.

    It failed and turned out this report:


    Can you make anything out of this??

    I REALLY appreciate your (or any outher poeples) help! Thank you soooo much!!! :)

    pls reply soon.

    Leanne xx
     
  5. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok the drive is back in DMA mode but you're still getting these 2 errors in Nero: Reset occurred & Invalid write state

    What other burning programs have you tried besides Nero? Have you tried another brand of CD's?
    Try taking the burn speed down to 32x.

    Check this too. In Nero go to Tools>Info Tool. Click on the aspi tab. Does anything show corrupted? It's ok if it says system aspi not installed.

    Close any unneeded programs while burning - from the log doesn't look like that much is running.
     
  6. leannej5

    leannej5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    okay i got your email this morning, going to try a few things now.
    in the Nero infotool tab, the option to change write speed has been 'greyed out'.

    Also i cant see a tab that says "ASPI".

    im going to try burn in itunes now.

    Well well!
    It worked! Weird... i only JUST installed nero like two days ago and have been using AShampoo, the generic WindowsXP burning facility, and iTunes and none of them worked (which is why i just installed nero). So im not quite sure what the go is. I might try Nero again with a new project (because i was trying to burn a saved project earlier).

    Do you think you know what the problem could have been?
    Anyway thanks HEAPS for all your help!

    :) leanne









     
  7. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ooop Nero 6 has an aspi tab there not Nero 7.

    Did you reduce the burn speed? That may have been it.
    Or you ran into some bad cds' (?)

    Try Nero again and let's see how that goes.
     
  8. leannej5

    leannej5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey,

    i think i told you last night how i burnt a cd in itunes and it worked?
    Well i didnt try nero yet because i just wanted this particular CD of songs for my car so i burnt another mp3 disc in iTunes, i didnt change settings because i presumed they may have stayed the same from the one that worked!

    And this one didnt!!!! Even though it went thru the whole same process and made the 'disc completed' sound itunes makes, it ejected the disc so i took it out, put it back in and nothing. It makes a kind of whistling sound (the drive in my computer), and if i try to open explorer to view my computer and see if it's labelled in there the whole of explorer goes white/ grey and if i dont leave it along for 10mins will freeze.

    so the cds that dont work seem to be getting ruined, they're not blank anymore.

    im using Sony cd-r's, since i have a sony dvd burner id think it should work. the only difference i can think of between the itunes burn that worked is that theres only about 50 songs or so and the one that didnt took up 690mb of the disc.

    not sure.
     
  9. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hmmm try another brand of discs. Reduce the burn speed too to 32x or less.

    The drive is actually made by LiteOn - good drive - but getting up there is dvd years.
    Since your having problems burning both cd's & dvd's w/different programs it may just be the drive on the way out.

    edit to add:
    If you haven't recently run a disc defrag, registry cleaner and virus scan too.
    If you need a registry cleaner here's a good free one - ccleaner
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2007

Share This Page