1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

it is old but still please help!!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by MickzZz, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi!

    i know this is really old and has bene said a thousend times, but please help or give a link for someone with the excact same problem and an answer to his problem!!

    i downloaded jak 3 and the iso file i burned on dvd... i used nero burning rom and burned it on the lowest speed.. i put the swap disc 3.3 in the ps2.. swapped it and the message said: not a valid ps2 disc!!! OMG so i tried it again, used a new dvd, burned it on the lowest speed.. and once again, not a valid ps2 disc!!! so i used another program (ultraiso) and burned it with that.. again... not a valid ps2 disc!!!! so i thought maybe it is the game... so i tried suikoden 4 and it also said not a valid ps2 disc!!!!

    heeelp what should i do??? i only have one dvd left over (im using verbatim dvd+r)... sooo please...
     
  2. Than924

    Than924 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't have a solution for you, but there are a few things you can try...
    I don't know anything about Jax 3.
    Make sure it is a DVD and not a PS2 CD.
    If it is a PS2 CD, you will need to boot your Swapmagic CD instead of your swapMagic DVD.
    Check www.swapmagicfix.com to see if your game is listed there.
    Other than that, you can try another method.
    Rent the game, make an image of the DVD and then burn the image. The downloaded files may be corrupt or something. Noone ever said the downloaded games are all playable. I downloaded Fatal Frame 2 and it didn't work.
    And if all else fails, you may try using DVD-R disks. I hear they work better than the DVD+R's...
     
  3. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh, thx

    but i need to know cause downloaded games work right? because i live in europe and it is not that easy to rent games... is it so that maybe 1-2 times it just fails to burn or something??
     
  4. Than924

    Than924 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    have you got any backups to work?
    are you sure you are using the swap magic disc's correctly?
    people often jump to the conclusion that there burns are bad,without thinking of the obvious.
    i am not saying you dont know how to use the disc's,but it may be the answer.
    what media are you using?
     
  6. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    verbatim +r

    and i tested final fantasy x-2 just copied it and it worked... but now i did isos and it doesnt anymore
     
  7. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    what version is your ps2?
     
  8. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    dont know exactly, but its quite from an early stage, i bought it like 6 months after the european release of the ps2 in europe... and my swap magic is 3.3
     
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you need to know version it is
    if it v4 or below you must use DVD-R


    Version 1 - SCPH-30001, 10 screws on bottom of case, serial no. starts with "U1"
    Version 2 - SCPH-30001, 10 screws on bottom of case, serial no. starts with "U0"
    Version 3 - SCPH-30001, 10 screws on bottom of case, serial no. starts with "U2"
    Version 4 - SCPH-30000, 30001, 35001, 30002, 35002, 30003, 35003, 30004, or 35004, 8 screws on bottom of case
    Version 4 (Gap/No Gap) - the difference between v4 "Gap" and v4 "No Gap" illustrated
    Version 5 - SCPH-30000R, 30001R, 30002R, 30003R, 30004R, or 30006R. Also, some SCPH-30000, 30001, 30002, 30003, and 30004 models have a V5/V6
    Version 5 & 6 - the difference between these two versions illustrated
    Version 7 - SCPH-39000, 39001, 39002, 39003, 39004, 39008 or 37000
    Version 8 - Only in Japanese consoles. SCPH-39000, or, SCPH-39006 (GH-022 BIOS 090)
    Version 9 - if you have SCPH-50000, 50001, 50002, 50003, 50004, 50006, or 50007 you have a v9 or v10 board.
    Version 10 - SCPH-5000x, with date code "3D" to the right and below the serial number on the back of the console. (GH-026 board)


    CHECK WHICH IS YOURS
     
  10. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oke... i got 30004... so -r :S:S:S

    but i also tried on -r and it also didnt work.. and i put in alcohol to burn it and i got a menu which said that it found the cd, but i could only press cancel... it didnt started to burn automatic
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    get some good quality dvd-r ,ritek go4's
    dont use memorex
    burn with decrypter it should work
    IF THIS FAILS YOU PROBABLY HAVE DOWNLOADED CORRUPT FILES.
    with kind regards hursty
     
  12. MickzZz

    MickzZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmmm oke.. i shall try, could you please pm me your msn (if you have it) so i can ask some more questions
     

Share This Page