1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I've tried everything i know

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by kenetic, Jun 13, 2004.

  1. kenetic

    kenetic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've read all the other threads and cant find anything to help.
    I've been backing up my collection for a while now using a combination of DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink, Smart Ripper, VStrip, Clone DVD, with DVD43 in conjunction with nero 6.
    Sometimes the dvd fails to encode and i get an error message saying:
    DVD Shrink encountered an error
    failed to read file "D:"
    Data error (cyclic redundancy check),
    I've tried removing and re-installing all the software and uninstalling both my primary and secondary drives and cleaning the disks thoroughly, does any one know why this is happening.
    Sorry in advance if i've made any mistakes this is my first thread.
    Cheers
     
  2. chinabee

    chinabee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's the error you get when your disk is scratched or has defects.
     
  3. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Since you have dvd43 and nero 6, why not go directly into recode 2 and forget all the extra steps?
     
  4. Martyzzz

    Martyzzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Ya'll,
    I also get the same msge "(cyclic redundancy check)" but i get it while backing up already backed up dvd (never been played) so they cant be scratched. the backup has been made with shrink but when i try to copy a backup i always get the error msge.
    What can i do about that ?
    i get a similar msge while using, nero/clonedvd/dvd decrypter etc.
    i have the latest firmware on my LG dvd-rom and nec 1300a and the windows installation is clean (just installed 3 weeks ago)
    I dont get it the dvd cant be bad, my collegue can copy them with no problems, i personally think it is my dvd-rom but on the nec dvd-burner it does the same

    can anybody help ?

    thnx
     
  5. roeod4

    roeod4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Martyzzz,

    That error appears because of a bad spot on a disc. Anything from a pit in the dye to just having dirt or dust on the disc can give you that error. In your case it sounds like dirt, bad media, or corrupted data to me. To check this try cleaning the disc and running DvdInfo Pro to check the disc for errors.
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Probably from low quality media, burning too fast or both. The drive may benefit from a firmware upgrade as well.
     
  7. kenetic

    kenetic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    H roeod4, where would you get disk info pro from is it freeware or a purchasable software,
     
  8. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Here is a great little info tool that identifies more than just discs. It's free or you can buy it, I use the free version. http://www.dvdinfopro.com/
     
  9. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know this code is suppose to refer to a bad disk, (low quality, scratch, dirt, etc.).But I have gotten it many times trying to back up a BRAND NEW DVD. Usually when I run DVDShrink, and DVD43 in combination.
    NORMALLY, it will work if I just restart the disk, and make sure I WAIT until dvd43 turns green, BEFORE starting Shrink. Sometimes I just hit shrink to fast, and shrink can not break the disk encryption on its own, and it if kicks in BEFORE dvd43 has a chance to break the code, it will give the same “can not read error” as bad disk will.
    So TRY slowing down a tad, make sure your ROM Drive, and your Burner are both set to DMA, and not PIO. Then put in the disk, and let dvd43 turn green BEFORE you hit Shrink or dvd decryptor either one. Also make sure you have up to date copies of both programs as well.
    MOST disk will not be a problem, but some can be. Since I started using DVD43, I have not found a disk I can not “back up”. Before that, I had some real problems with a few of them.
    Good luck to you,
    Shooterè>
     
  10. roeod4

    roeod4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There you go kenetic, thanks biorange.
     
  11. chinabee

    chinabee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try to use the Decrypter to copy it to HD first, then write it. Don't write it directly.

    Another way is to try a different reader.
     
  12. chinabee

    chinabee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    why do you need DVD43?
     
  13. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    dvd43, anydvd, dvd region free, are all de-encrypters, that is they rip the movie, running in the background, while u do nothing, enabling u to go directly into programs like recode, InstantCopy 8, etc. They can be used to burn on the fly also.
     

Share This Page