1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jtag DVD drive?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by chriswhit, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I got a jtagable falcon without a dvd drive I got the dvd key and cpu key and it had a benq drive so I have a benq drive that came from another 360 my question is how do I change the key in the drive flash? Im using jungle flash 1.86 beta. Ive flashed many drives before but I always had the original drive when I started. I have used xbins before to but my trial period is up. I dont mind buying it if I need to for possible needed files. Any help would be appreciated. thank you for reading my post oh I also have an encripted key vault from my original nand but im not sure if I need it.
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    why? Why not boot your games from an external HD? dvd is worthless on a jtag

    Flash xell, get the cpu key (if you do not have it) and create the CFW from there and flash the drive.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  3. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    and dont spoof to another drive or the new games wont work,,using a drive in a jtag is good if you do not have the spice to rip the game to a PC,,with FSD you can rip it to your internal or external usb harddrive,
     
  4. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a usb hard drive that I was attempting to play games off but they play for a few mins then freeze up. I used wx360 and pulled the system updates from the game then just put the folder on a 500g sata hard drive that was formatted to fat32 ans clicking the default.xex to boot them. I have dash 13599. not sure why it freezes. it does the same in my xenon but if I burn a backup iso to disk in the xenon it runs fine. The xenon was still in the box unused when i got it a month ago. Nether system has been used much or ever red ringed. I didn't have much luck with setting up launch.ini to boot freestyle dash but found I could boot it with the default.xex to its just a pain doing it that way and I have a bunch of kinect games. My issue with flashing the drive is that I cant type the key in. I'm assuming I have to do some kind of dummy bin or something. Id just use the xenon but I like the hdmi a lot better and the console runs much cooler.
    Oh the games that froze were both operation flashpoints, Homefront, Crysis 2, and Body count. I didnt bother to try anything else older to see if they would freeze. Im assuming if I went with freestyle dash my kinect games would be useless.
     
  5. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    still looking for an answer in how to inject my dvd drive info and key into firmware for flashing to the drive I had some issues with the falcon i jtaged without a drive seemed to like to e79 on me so I reflashed the nand to stock. if I can get a dvd drive to work in it I plan to update the dash so i can use it as a stock 360 on xbox live where my good 360 got killed by lightning after I just got a gold account. I been looking and trying different stuff for a week or so. I dont want to play backups I just want stock firmware if that is possible. Right now my box is still jtagable but I dont know why I was having the issue with the e79
     
  6. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    spoofed drives do boot the new games,
     
  7. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    the e79 is due to crappy soldering regarding the jtag wiring. it has nothing to do without having a dvd drive.
     
  8. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have an exact drive like the original anyways. its a philips & lite-on. I downloaded the original firmware for the drive and I have the decrypted key vault and a nand dump from my falcon. I wrote the original nand back to the 360 cause of a few issues I had now I need a few pointers on why I cant put my key into jungleflash and flash stock firmware to it. I know how to do it if I had the original drive and was able to dump the original firmware so I'm not a complete noob but I have never flashed a lite-on ether. I'm assuming I need to generate a dummy bin from what I have. I been looking for tutorials but I cant find any info at all about starting with just a key vault and nand dump. Does anyone know where I can find some info or let me know If I can update my dash on xbox live and just download games from xbox live my interest is to play Battlefield Vietnam on line and maybe a few others.
     
  9. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes I figured the drive had nothing to do with it. I soldered it a few times and never had an issue with my soldering before then again I used the alternate smc audio clamp and dvd points due to someone else messing up one of the points on the board. it seemd to e79 then it would work for a bit then e79 again. I did check my wiring with a multi meter and it seemed ok but its possible that i might have had a bad diode or something. Ether way I'm fussy and still want a dvd drive working if its at all possible.
     
  10. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i had three that where spoofed,and they all red light everytime i put in a new game,i made a video on youtube showing it,once i put back the original drive all work well,weird,
     
  11. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I got my key into my firmware but after writing my firmware to the drive I forgot to close out my drive and now I get e64 error every time I boot with the drive hooked up and I get a red flashing light to. Without it hooked it boots fine. I cant get the drive to be recognized again or get it into vender mode. Im assuming that there is ether no firmware on the drive or there is an error from not closing the drive. Gonna look for some info on how to deal with this issue. I wish I had the original drive cause this would be way easier. I got a bunch of 360's that I got my keys from the nand but want to get this one strait first before messing with the others. I know if I can get it back into vender mode It wont be a problem. I do know the one red light is cause my dvd drive is timing out.
     
  12. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    use dosflash.
     

Share This Page