1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kazaa download

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by daniel18, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. daniel18

    daniel18 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was downloading a south park episode, 3/4 of the way through my PC restarted, and when i reload kazaa, the .dat file is gone, i can get it back from my recycle bin, is there any way i can get kazaa to recognise it again to continue the download.
    or could i play what i have of it in any media player ?
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Kazaa wont continue it but you could try playing the dat file with avipreview (you should get kazaa lite, it somces with that!!)
     
  3. loaded

    loaded Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Usually when Kazza closes it remembers what was being downloaded and restarts.

    Paul.
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Not when the computer crashes, because when kazaa closes normally it keeps record of what its downloading so if it doesnt get the chance to keep the record of it then it wont resume! Pretty shitty really but hey, it's kazaa :p Whenever a computer crashes and emule was running, it has no problem continuing later! :)
     
  5. loaded

    loaded Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    When I used to use Kazza, my computer crashed about a dozen times and restarted the d/l without fail.

    Paul.
     
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    So did mine but that was on previous O/S (Win98 SE).
    I do seem to remember back in the day before XP Pro (soO0 stable) that Kazaa would still have the .dat file after enforced restart...
     
  7. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Is everone here running Kazaa-Lite (K++) btw?

    On the emule subject...I downloaded eDonkey2000 the other day to see if I couldnt d/l a PS2.ISO just to test skills of my Pioneer DVR-104.
    I don't trust Kazaa with games..at all!
    Anyway I digress,I am finding that eDonkey app is using like 100% CPU at times. Is this normal does anyone know ?



     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2003
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    eMule and eDonkey use a lot of cpu when you first use them because they have to hash the shared files up so they can be used on the donkey network. I recommend using eMulke as it only hashes them up once! It can take a really long time to get them all done but like most things depends on the speed of your computer and of course how many shared files you have. As advice, dont put mp3 into your shared files in eMule, nobody will end up downloading them anyway so there is no point!
     
  9. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Yeah I see the hash codes.
    Might well get hold of eMule then cos I am used to & prefer it for whatever P2P filesharing network to load all files I share once (no matter how long it takes)
    I dont need it loading them everytime.

    Cheers for reply Boycie ; )
     
  10. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol no probs :) i have emule running 24/7! :) favourite p2p app!!
     
  11. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    And have you got loads of lovely DVD rips in your shares on there may I ask?

    : )
     
  12. loaded

    loaded Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Please don't go there lads, you are skating on the thin ice as it is :)

    And to think, I just recommended you as senior member, Herbsman. Shame on you ;)

    Paul.
     
  13. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    He never said anything aboput pirated dvd rips now did he loaded?? all he asked was did i have dvd rips in my shared files!! look around the forum and stop the people who purposly name the files they share all the time! :)
     
  14. loaded

    loaded Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You don't need to rip non copyrighted material, as copyright protection is not implemented.

    Anyway, as you can see, it was meant in good humour.

    :)

    Paul.
     
  15. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ah ye but people use the word rip for a lot of different things!! :p and since its not in the english language as copying copyrighted material i think its ok, lol :p or does it officially mean copying copyrighted material??
     
  16. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    hahaha

    stop trippin' (you'll tie yourself up for ages)

    On a serious note...I'm liking Xvid DVD Rips (Go0d quality)!!

     
  17. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I like ripping to svcd! :p i dont like downloading xvid dvd rips because thats bold!! :p
     
  18. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I have a Sony DVP-NS 305 which apparently is XVCD capable...

    Have you done any in that format yet ?

    Out to Dela & Paul (cheers for recommendation boycie ; )

     
  19. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    xvcd is simply non standard vcd, usually with vbr encoding to maintain quality! :)
     
  20. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    XVCD plug in needed for Nero would you imagine..?
    VCD is 8 mins with Nero at the moment.
    AVI2VCD w/ Nero encoding is like ...2 hrs 15mins (LOL)
    Encoding takes longer that ripping/unencrypting,compressing & burning a DVD.

    Incred-ible ;p
     

Share This Page