1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Keep getting "Play Dvd" when disk inserted

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by rage4ordr, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'll try to keep this as short as possible so here goes: I kept getting RROD so decided to take my box to a local guy to get it fixed. When I got it back, I tried to play a backup and it wouldn't work, so I opened it up and re-flashed with Lt 2.0(it's a Benq drive). I hooked it back up and decided to try an original game(BF3) and it started to play but then froze up. I rebooted my box a couple of times and then got an error(I believe e66??). After a couple of reboots, my box would actually boot but give me the play DVD screen, even with originals. Now, I'm stuck as to what might be wrong. Does anyone have any suggestions?
    BTW, I'm on the latest dash, I have my original key, and my drive as of now is at stock. Also, I'm not exactly sure as to if anything else happened leading up to the E66 because this happened over a month ago and I just got my box back from repair.
     
  2. craig1975

    craig1975 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Buy a new machine(no sarcasm intended) and flash to LT3.0.
     
  3. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sounds like to me could be any thing like he changed your drive and didnt tell you he swapped out your xbox inside a gave u a different one ..did you keep the orig from before you took it in ? if so makesure the keys match .if not then not your drive
     
  4. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually, I did already buy a "new" one. But I'm leaving it stock because I'm playing MW3 on Live. Would buying another BenQ drive do the trick? When you say buy a new one, do you mean another phat model or an actual new slim one? I'm trying to avoid having to buy probes or any other flashing tools. I enjoy the simplicity of the BenQ drive. :^)

    Did I keep the original what? I am afraid maybe he screwed up and put the wrong board or drive back in when he put it back together.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  5. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ran into another snag. When I try to update the dash I get an update failed error with a code.
     
  6. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well u need original fw on there to do the update .did u keep your original.bin?if you dont have the original bin from the drive and that drive is not the one that goes with it ,then u got a dvd player only
     
  7. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, I thought I had flashed back to stock but I guess I hadn't. I got it to take the update. Still working on the "play dvd" problem tho. So, seeing as I was able to flash back to stock and apply the update, that should mean the fw and key I'm using are correct, right? So, does that help in troubleshooting my problem? Does this mean my drive is bad?
     
  8. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well the way i am seeing this .you have the wrong firmware or he gave you a different xbox...check and see if a dvd movie will play in it ..if so then its 1 of 2 things ..1 wrong firmware,2 wrong xbox .
     
  9. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yea looks like he gave you a switched xbox,
     
  10. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Crap! That's what I was afraid of. I had a feeling my board got switched. When I opened it to flash my drive, it just looked different. I think he just screwed up by accident but now I don't know if he'd be able to tell what he did with my original one.
    I did put a movie in and it played. So my only option is to look for another xbox then? I really prefer one with a Benq drive or are the other drives just as easy to flash?
    EDIT: Here's a question- if he accidentally put my board into another box he was repairing, would they be having problems with theirs also?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  11. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yep .theres would do the same thing yours is doing.but id say it was no accident.
     
  12. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Didn't you say that a game did boot on it once, even though it froze up? If the key of the drive does not match that of the console, a game would never boot. It sounds more like your DVD drive is broken or the laser needs tweaking rather than a key issue, unless I'm reading this thread incorrectly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  13. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yea, I could've sworn the game booted and then I got the error. It's been so long ago I really can't remember the specifics. Maybe I'll just find a used drive and try that before I go looking for another xbox.
     
  14. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    if the console works good and its not a xenon board,,and you lost the keys the only way to get them back is RGH with coolrunner,and once you do the cool,youll say i dont need a dvd drive,
     
  15. rage4ordr

    rage4ordr Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well, I have the original key but now I really have no way of knowing if I have the correct board, or if my drive is just bad. I've been reading about that coolrunner but still have a lot of questions. If I decide to use it, I will essentially just be using this software and an external drive to play my games? Can you point me to a good tut and site to purchase from? Oh, and is there anything I need to look out for before buying this?
    BTW, my board is a zephyr
     

Share This Page