1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Keyboard not working during bootup.

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by phoenixmg, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My keyboard stopped working after I got a keyboard failure message during bootup. I have XP Professional and I tried running a diagnostic, reinstallation of drivers & OS, and a USB keyboard. I also kept getting a low system voltage message too. Does anyone know of a fix? Any assistance will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    take a real close look at the usb connectors were the keyboard was connected as i think you broke 1 & is causing a short in power to ground with 1 of the usb pins causing low system voltage message.
     
  3. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My original keyboard had a serial port connection and it registered OK when I did a diagnostic on it and when I tried to repair/reinstall the OS. I also tried the USB ports but nothing happened. The system voltage says F1 to continue, F2 to run setup utlity. Keyboards are unresponsive there.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is not a serial port but is a ps2 port. try clearing the cmos to see what happens.
     
  5. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So, I'd hit F2 to access CMOS?
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no, remove cmos battery or use cmos jumper on motherboard to put motherboard back to original configuration.
     
  7. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I took out the battery and tried the jumper but I got another keyboard failure message. Should I get another battery
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can try it as should be a cr2032 battery.
     
  9. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had to order a battery since I couldn't find one in store anywhere. I took another look inside at the motherboard and I'm not sure if I looked at the right spot for the jumper. What does it look like and where would it be?
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    usually by the battery. is a colored piece of plastic(red, white, green, black or blue) with copper in it. there is usually 3 pins that the jumper is on to of them. check your motherboard manual.
     
  11. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The replacement battery that I ordered arrived today and I put it in but the keyboard message is still there and a keyboard won't respond. I also saw a white tab with a coil in it but it wouldn't come up and the manual didn't say how to move it.
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the make & model# of the computer or motherboard? does the keyboard work on another pc? is the mouse ps2 or usb & can you try another 1 as maybe it is causing the problem, ran into that years ago on a customer's computer.
     
  13. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's a Dell Dimension 8300. The keyboards worked on other PCs and one is a brand new Logitech USB keyborad. The original and the mouse are USB. I tried using other ports and other USB slots but nothing works.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    new computer.
     
  15. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    New power supply!
     
  16. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So would that mean that I'd get a new battery or that in addition to something else?
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    power supply that converts your house voltage to 3.3v, 5v & 12volts.
     
  18. phoenixmg

    phoenixmg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Any suggestions on a good brand/model?
     

Share This Page