1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LABELS ON DVD+R DISCS

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by hiberian, Feb 6, 2007.

1. hiberian

hiberian Member

I have been a bad boy. I started burning discs about 2 years ago. Being new to the disc world (having gratuated after many years of videotaping) I was a novice. I wanted my discs of burned movies to look really cool and nice, just like some of those store bought ones. So I went out and bought myself a CD Stomper, a couple boxes of Stomper CD Labels, loaded up the Click & Design program and proceeded to make some really nice lables. They looked great on my DVD's. But, alas, my DVD's stuck, pixlelated, froze, skipped and did almost everything bad that a DVD could do. I couldnt watch my movies, nor could anybody else. By this time I had labled more than 200 of them! I came to the AfterDawn forum and soon learned the error of my ways: LABELS ON DVD'S ARE A BIG 'NO NO". Additionally, I was using some of those brands that are just not up to standard: TDK, Memorex, FUJI even Philips to match my DVD recorder. None seemed to work well. I have long since switched exclusively to Vebatim and have nary a problem. Of course some of the older DVD players still wont play my movies but that is not because of a lable or media problem, at least not what I have read in these forums. Ok, to cut to the chase, and here is my problem and request for assistance: Does anyone have a way to remove the lables that I stupidly put on so that I can save my movies and watch them? I have dabbed denatured rubbing alcohol on them and carefully scrapped the labels off. That seems to work ok, although it is a very labor intensive process. I even use the alcohol to clean the discs of fingerprints and smudges, always cleaning out, never in a circle (now I will probably get a response that using alcohol is a big "NO NO"}. Unless someone can come up with a better method, I guess I will cont