1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

laptop gaming problem for layman

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by robfosert, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. robfosert

    robfosert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can someone please tell me why grand theft auto and certain other titles install, and start up ok, then flash and flicker on the gamescreen itself? they usually crash after a couple of minutes. is this a graphics card issue? i dont understand why they should install ok, but not play. i have managed to play collin mcrae 3, and simcity4 and hitman2. somebody please help! should i try runnin it through a vid cable into a tv?
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2007
  2. aDcleaner

    aDcleaner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What are the system specs for the laptop and video card.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,070
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum
     
  4. robfosert

    robfosert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its an Intel Centrino Duocore
    T5200 @ 1.6ghz x2
    1014 RAM
    32 bit operating system

    the video card is a Mobile intel 945GM express chipset family version 7.14.10.1114

    geoforce go.
    is there a way of upgrading, if it is the problem.?
     
  5. Noqoilpi

    Noqoilpi Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you have Vista or XP. Your specs look ok, but games are tough.
    You need to hook up with some gamers for more info.
    Like these guys.
    Some suguest you need better Drivers.
     
  6. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Some games are more graphically intense than others. Since GTA has more interactive creation than your other games your onboard vid card will crash and possible restart your system.

    I don't understand what this is ---> "geoforce go" Its usually GO 7600 Nvidia (That's the latest graphics card) thats being thrown in high end gaming "consumer" notebooks.
     
  7. tuxbox

    tuxbox Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    go to start an go to run. type in dxdiag then a message will pop an click no. then on top click on the display. then post a pic or type out the specs under the device box thingy
     
  8. robfosert

    robfosert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its windows vista premium.. is the graphics card up for it?? the system requirements on the box are all well within my system spec. i just thought that if it says 32bit graphix, then it wil work...maybe the game is just too busy. so annoying, because im buying software that supposedly runs on my system, im getting in only to find out ive just wastedmy money... like i said it runs cllin mcrae 3 ok and thats a really fast paced game, so to me, this does not really make much sense
     
  9. tuxbox

    tuxbox Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ahhh. now i see. you have vista running. there are rumors going around that vista laggs games or makes the performance crap. you should just wait till sp1 for vista comes out and that should fix it.
     
  10. robfosert

    robfosert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if thats correct, thats great. has anyone else come across this problem? and did windows ex etc. have the same sort of problem? I was told that vista was alot better, and a lot more versatile than its former, so i expected it to obviously be better.. obviously not!
     
  11. tuxbox

    tuxbox Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    win xp is better than vista right now. its only better because its not as buggy compared to vista and you can actually play games with out any problems. once microsoft releases service pack 1 for vista it should fix majority of the bugs and games should have good or better performance.
     

Share This Page