1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

laptop HD

Discussion in 'Other PC hardware' started by emtmike, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a HP dm4 laptop that seems to have a hard drive going bad. At startup I keep getting a message that the hard drive is failing and I need to back up my data. I have backed up everything using windows back up and saved it to an external HD. Now that I have done this, do I just need to get a new HD and pop it in then boot from the external HD and restore the data to the new HD? The HD is a Toshiba MK6465GSX. Where is the best place to pick one up and would this be a good time to do an upgrade? I know, a lot of questions, but I need some advice from the pros. Thanks
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what country are you in so know were to send you to get new hard drive? do you have or did you make your windows recovery disks to put windows back onto the new hd before copying data off external hd?
  4. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry I am in the USA And no I did not make a windows recovery disk and dont have one. I just did the windows 7 back up to the external HD
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    see if can boot off the external hard because if can't then you need windows disk(s).
  6. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So still looking for advice as to where to get the new HD and if its something I can upgrade?
  7. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    any computer store will have 2.5" sata2 hard drives. does not have to be toshiba as can use hitachi, seagate or western digital. can also check http://newegg.com for hard drives.
  9. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  10. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I believe if you use an sata3 drive it won't be any faster because your computer was made for an sata2 drive although it would probably work.
  11. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thanks
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    sata3 will work as sata2 but not vice versa.
  13. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but will it make a diff?
  14. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No it won't improve the performance any by using an sata3 in a sata2 system.
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  15. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can I do anything to make it faster?
  16. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Adding more memory if it will support it will make it faster.The same goes for the processor if it is up-gradeable to a faster one.
  17. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    guys....thanks for all your help and sorry for all the questions.
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what is the system specs of the laptop? what is the model# of the dm4 laptop as there is various versions of it?
  19. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not sure I want to do this myself but I just called the computer shop and they told me it was going to run $225 to get it done so I am going to try it myself. I need some more help from you guys. I think I need to make a recovery disk and I know how to do that. I ran a backup from the control panel to an external HD. I have a new HD. What do I do now? Will I lose the things I put into my laptop like MS office? It did not come with the computer. I had to buy it and install it but I bought it online and don’t have the disk. Any help with be great. Thanks
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    when you downloaded office, did you save it 1st or just installed it?
  21. emtmike

    emtmike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I saved it

Share This Page