1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

laptop hdd failure

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ribbo, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all

    I've recently taken the hdd from my laptop, to put in my pc by means of an adaptor. I'm thinking I've connected up wrongly because couldn't get the pc to see the hdd. I've put the hdd back in the laptop and now I'm getting PXE-E61 error at start-up and the os fails to boot.

    Does anyone know if I can retrieve the data off of the hdd or is it now just a distant memrory???
     
  2. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can I buy an identical working hdd and swap the pcb's? Or maybe swap the platters?
     
  3. starchy

    starchy Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I am not expert but I think that they make those Laptop ones only for Laptops for a reason and cannot be used on a desktop
     
  4. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Obviously you're not an expert because if you were, you would know that you can buy 2.5"-3.5" adaptors!! But thanks for the post anyways
     
  5. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ribbo, with an attitude like that i would not expect to get much help.

    But i will try anyway. Have you use a hard drive data recovery software or Partition Magic to try and recognize the drive or get the data off?
     
  6. starchy

    starchy Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well Im sorry I was just trying to make a joke and give this thread a little spice haha
     
  7. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No offence starchy relax man!!!!!!!!!

    steimy, the drive is dead, kaput, no software will work.

    I just dont want to send it to a data recovery company and be ripped off when I could do it myself!!!

     
  8. starchy

    starchy Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dude who was flipping out ? if you read my post over agian you can see the words haha ....which usually means that im relax and joking
     
  9. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok love you too, so you dont know the answer to my problem then?
     
  10. starchy

    starchy Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok , dont you have to do something in the BIOS screen to make it reconize
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    ribbo, does the drive make any noise at all as in spinning noise?
     
  12. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No ddp, the drive no longer spins or makes a noise. Probably fried I know!!! Was just wondering if it is possible to put the platters in a healthy identical drive
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can be done but have never even attempted before.
     
  14. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cheers, think I will try it, there's some very sentimental stuff on there!
     
  15. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I think the problem lies in trying to hook it up to a desktop. You probably overloaded it with power as laptop drives are made to run with low power requirements.

    I think you really did fry it :(
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Estuansis, laptop drives can be used internally on desktop cases if using proper adapter. i have 1 of those adapters & used it a number of times.
     
  17. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Then, I stand corrected... but it sounds like the motor burnt out or something if it wont spin.
     
  18. ribbo

    ribbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Exactly, so in theory the platters will be ok, which I could put in an identical drive! Thanks all
     
  19. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you really want to... but see that you don't get finger grease or dust on them. You'll get lots of read errors then.
     

Share This Page